Skip to content

Roasted Beet & Blueberry Salad with Blue Cheese

June 12, 2012
tags: ,

So…I like beets!  That’s probably a good thing, since I have two rows planted in the garden to keep up on.  My only previous beet memory was a taste of the candied kind my grandma used to make.  That had to be a good 20+ years ago and I don’t remember it being pleasant. 

beets from the garden

I had absolutely no plan for dinner tonight.  Even when I was checking out at the grocery store, I still had no idea.  A little weeding in the garden was all it took for inspiration though….hence the beets.

Sidenote:  Do you like to weed?  Crazily I kind of do.  It’s very meditative for me, just quietly moving along from one weed to the next.  Of course when you stand up, it’s a whole other story (ouch low back).

Look at the color on these bad boys.  I’m not sure how you couldn’t love something as pretty as these beets.

beets

Tonight’s dinner came in the form of a salad.  It was dang good…as in I talked to myself the whole time I was eating, about how much I liked it.  Yeah, I’m that girl.

After roasting, the beets stayed just as pretty but with a darker hue of purple.

roasted beet and blueberry salad

Roasted Beet & Blueberry Salad with Blue Cheese

Fresh baby spinach leaves

Sliced roasted chicken breast (cook it this way)

Roasted beets (toss four peeled and sliced beets with olive oil and sprinkle with S&P; roast at 375 degrees for around 30 minutes)

Fresh blueberries

Blue cheese crumbles

Place a layer of spinach on your plate and then top with your desired amounts of chicken, beets, blueberries and cheese.  I’m not a big salad dressing gal, so a drizzle of olive oil and red wine vinegar was perfect for me.

roasted beet & blueberry salad

Favorite part of the salad?  The beets.  To me it was kind of like a roasted carrot, but with a little earthier flavor.  Nice and sweet though and awesome with the contrasting bites of blue cheese.

Growing beets this year?  Make sure you roast some.  Sooo good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 12:07 pm

    That is SO pretty. I love beets too. My daughter is a hold out, but I’m working on her…. Thanks for sharing!

  2. September 26, 2012 9:57 pm

    These beets look amazing! I love the way fresh beets taste compared to pickled (canned) beets. The salad looks worthy of talking to yourself. Looks tasty.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

