Skip to content

Seed Starting for Warm Season Crops

March 27, 2012

This weekend I started some more seeds that will get planted in the garden once the risk of frost has passed.  In my Zone 5 garden, mid-May is usually my target.  Funny how it already feels like the middle of May outside.

My cool season seedlings are currently happy under their grow lights.

First up I poured warm water over the peat pellets to expand the growing medium.  This time around I went with a large 72 cell tray as I like to start more warm season crops from seed…mostly  heirloom tomatoes and herbs.

seed starting pellets

All plumped up!

seed starting tray

To prepare to ‘plant’ my seeds, I peeled back the netting and fluffed up the growing medium.

expanded peat pellet

And then finally placed a seed in the pellets and covered with around a 1/4″ of the mix.  Can you spot the seed?

seed starting peat pellets

This is what I started:

Tomatoes

  • Aunt Ginny’s Purple
  • HillBilly
  • Cherokee Green
  • Cuostralee
  • Black Sea Man
  • Cherokee Chocolate

Herbs

  • Fine Verde basil
  • Genovese basil
  • tarragon
  • parsley
  • chervil

And a few Thai Green eggplants.

Just think only around 120 days until the first juicy tomato from the garden….dang that stinks.

How are your garden plans or chores coming so far?

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

