Skip to content

Starting Seeds – Ready to Transplant

March 25, 2012

If you’re new to my recent playbook of starting seeds this spring, feel free to catch up here and here.

This week my little broccoli seedlings grew their own true leaves.  When a seedling gets these leaves, it means it’s time to transplant into its own container to really start growing some roots and size.

In the middle of the larger heart-shaped leaves below you can see where the true leaves have grown.

broccoli seedlings, peat pellet

To start the transplant, you pull away the netting from the peat pellet and then gently pull the seedlings apart, being careful to rip the roots to shreds.  The goal would be to do as minimal damage as possible to the roots of each seedling – this means just take your time and you’ll do fine.

Looks quite fragile, right?

broccoli seedling ready to transplant

After separating the seedling, fill a container with a little bit of potting soil based on the height of your seedling.  Since my broccoli was quite leggy, I was sure to plant them deep to prevent them from being incredibly flimsy.

potting soil for transplant

This is my first year trying out peat pots (which I liked), as I usually use small plastic cups I get at the dollar store.  I also typically use a standard potting mix (not soil), but as I incorporate more organic methods into my gardening…I may look to alternatives for next season.

I also like to wet down the potting mix first so it’s holding moisture, therefore I don’t have to water right away.

Again with nice and gentle hands, I fill the pot around the seedling just up to its true leaves.

broccoli transplant

Then just repeat until you’ve got all the seedlings you want to turn into plants for the garden.  I always do enough for myself with several left for friends and family.  No way this much broccoli would fit in my garden.

peat pot transplants

After all is potted up, then the transplants go back under the grow lights for at least 12+hours per day.

I will continue to monitor and water as needed, as well as move the lights up as the plants will really start to grow now.

seedlings under grow lights

Getting closer to seeing the great big outdoors!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. promisedkqp permalink
    March 28, 2012 3:25 pm

    Peat pots work great…just gotta keep them moist…they will dry out fast. I use them for my peppers, tomatos, and flowers. I use the pellets as well, although I do not break them a part… I just plant pellet in larger pot. This is the best time of year…watching our plants grow is …..good for the soul! Great info you provide. PromisedLandGardener

    • April 1, 2012 8:45 pm

      My first year with the peat pots, but really like them. And yes watching plants grow is very, very good for the soul. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Seed Starting for Warm Season Crops « life in green
  2. Transplanting Seedlings « Gardora.net

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

