Skip to content

Strawberry Swirl Angel Food Cupcakes

March 4, 2012

Did me a little baking…though totally not from scratch.  While I get a lot of satisfaction out of making something completely homemade in my kitchen, sometimes you just have to go with a box.

cupcake liners

Chuck it up to laziness, not wanting to buy lots of ingredients, or having more faith in the package than your own skills, you can usually bake something that’s 9 times out of 10…delicious.

angel food cupcakes with strawberry puree

And by making one adjustment or adding something extra, it’s so easy to take simple dessert from a box to jazzed-up-boxed-recipe-that-tastes-that-much-better.  Right?

mini loaf cake pan

That’s what I did with a box of angel food cake this weekend.  Mmm, one of my favorites.

angel food cake loaf

Strawberry Swirl Angel Food Cupcakes (or Mini-Loaves) 

inspired by Foodie Wannabe

1 cup fresh strawberries, sliced

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 box angel food cake mix

1 1/3 cup water

For whipped topping:

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 T confectioner’s sugar

In small saucepan combine strawberries and sugar over medium-high heat.  Smash strawberries (I use my potato masher) and cook for at least five minutes, until you get a thick sauce.  Stir in teaspoon of vanilla and then remove from heat and cool completely.

Mix angel food cake mix according to package.

Line cupcake pans with cupcake liners and fill 3/4 full with angel food batter.  Drop one teaspoon of strawberry sauce on top of batter and then swirl through with a toothpick.  In addition to cupcake liners, I also used un-greased (8) mini-loaf pan.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 17 minutes or according to package directions.  I found my bake time to be much less than what the package instructed.

For the whipped topping, beat the whipping cream just until soft peaks start to form (a good 5+ minutes).  Add in remaining vanilla extract and confectioner’s sugar.  Serve cakes with a dollop of whipped topping and garnish with a slice of strawberry.

Strawberry Angel Food Cupcake

These turned out great.  You’ll never see me pass up a cupcake, but I think I’m loving these little loaves more.  🙂

Strawberry Angel Food Cupcake Mini Loaf

But believe me I didn’t pass up the cupcakes.  Since these are so light compared to a typical cupcake, popping a couple in less than a minute is no big deal.  And by couple, I mean at least more than two.  😮

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 4:04 pm

    I am so going to make these soon. Thank you for sharing!

  2. March 7, 2012 3:46 am

    These look so SCRUMPTIOUS!! Can’t wait to try them!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

