Skip to content

Healthy Chicken Stir Fry

February 29, 2012

Yes I do still cook, even if my last food post was a whole month ago.  Hey, it is the off season for Life in Green.  If you missed that one it was about Burrito Bowls, which by the way I had one at Pancheros this weekend and have to say my one at home was just as tasty.

Inspired by How Sweet It Is (which I often am), I whipped up a good one tonight that you might find to be easy on the love handles and taste buds.

Chicken stir fry

And also included a home-grown ingredient….frozen edamame from my kitchen garden this summer.

Nice!  Growing lots more this year – it was new for me in 2011, but can’t imagine another season without these soy beans.

Edamame for stir fry

Healthy Chicken Stir Fry

adapted from How Sweet It Is: Healthy Cashew Chicken

2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut in 1 inch cubes

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 head broccoli, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

3 green onions, chopped

1/4 cup shelled edamame

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 cup peanuts

3 tablespoons honey

3 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce

Heat a skillet on medium heat and add 1 tablespoon olive oil. Add broccoli and red pepper and saute until tender, about 5 minutes. Remove from skillet. Season chicken with salt, pepper and garlic powder (if desired).  You can also sprinkle with 2 T cornstarch if you want a thick sauce.  Add the remaining olive oil to the skillet and add chicken. Brown on both sides until cooked, about 5 minutes per side. Add garlic, edamame, green onions and peanuts and stir for 30 seconds. Turn heat to medium low.

In a small bowl, mix soy sauce and honey. Pour into skillet, coating chicken and vegetables. Serve with long grain or brown rice.

Then eat up!

Healthy Chicken Stir Fry

See…I still cook, though my tummy and Tyler might question that statement from time to time.  I’m looking forward to daylight savings as nice bright light motivates me to make good stuff…then I get to take pictures of my food.  It’s so much better that way. 😉

What have you been cooking this winter?  

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

