Skip to content

Seeds Ordered

February 19, 2012

Yep that’s right I actually ordered some seeds.  I’m guessing the 70 bucks I spent on seeds will turn into several 100 dollars worth of fresh food this growing season.  I’m sure I’ll be spending more on seeds and plants later on, but again it will just provide me with lots of free food right out of my own backyard.

So what did I get?

Lots of heirloom and several organic goodies from Seed Savers Exchange and Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds.

  • Black Sea Man, Tomato
  • Amish Paste, Tomato
  • DeCicco, Broccoli
  • KY Wonder Pole, Beans
  • Crisp Mint, Lettuce
  • Tom Thumb, Lettuce
  • Merlo Nero, Spinach
  • Blue Solaise, Leek (never grown these before!)
  • Bull’s Blood, Beet (these either!)
  • Envy, Soybean
  • Dragon, Carrot
  • Lunar White, Carrot
  • Yukon Gold, Potato
  • French Fingerling, Potato

image from rareseeds.com

  • Chinese Green Luobo, Radish
  • Chinese Red Meat, Radish
  • Arugula
  • Cilantro
  • Fine Verde, Basil
  • Genovese, Basil

I’m not super crazy about radish, so I’m expanding into different varieties to see if there’s something out there much more tasty than I’m used to.  I think the Chinese Green Luobo classifies as different enough don’t you think?

Do we have similar taste buds….will you be planting anything similar to me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    February 19, 2012 10:27 pm

    I think we will just share with you!

  2. February 20, 2012 9:59 am

    I’m getting so excited for our garden this summer! Last summer was a total whirlwind with our wedding and 7 others that we were a part of. This summer though? This summer is all about growing! We’re planning on a few different types of tomatoes, peppers, radishes, and some greens. Need to do a little studying before I place an order though, thanks for the motivation!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

