Skip to content

Use Your Pulp!

January 4, 2012

I’m loving my new juicer and have been juicing everyday.  With breakfast I had a lovely green juice made from celery, spinach and apple.  Let me just say that you instantly feel incredible drinking something that fresh and that bright green.

In an effort to get the most out of the juicing experience, I even made some muffins with some fresh orange juice as well as it’s pulp.

Orange pulp muffins

I went back and forth between recipes and then eventually just started throwing stuff together to get a consistency of batter I like.  Not really a good move when baking, but it turned out well.

So instead of a recipe how about a list of ingredients?  Incredibly helpful, I know.  At least I tried to keep everything rather healthy, helps with the new year resolutions you may be working on.  All this good stuff made for an incredibly filling muffin too.

  • Mix of white & whole wheat flour
  • Salt
  • Baking powder
  • Fresh orange juice (from the juicer)
  • Fresh orange pulp (from the juicer)
  • Canola oil
  • Egg whites
  • Buttermilk
  • Pecans
  • Sugar, flour, butter for a little bit of crumbly topping

I’ve turned into a juicing machine so I’m guessing additional pulp muffins will be on the radar and you just might get an actual recipe.  How about a Green Monster Muffin next time?  No?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 1:37 pm

    What is your favorite juicing recipe? Im thinking of buying a juicer and starting this weekend after watching the documentary ‘Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead’ I usually just do Green Monsters- is juicing better?

    • January 7, 2012 10:48 am

      Well I haven’t been juicing long, but I’m loving adding spinach and apples to about any combo of grapefruit, oranges or grapes. As far as juicing, I believe many think that the nutrients from the variety of fruits/veggies you use are absorbed faster into your body. Since you can add many different types of fruit/veg to the juicer you get a much wider range of nutrients. It would be hard to sit and actually eat all those things at once.
      With smoothies like Green Monsters, you leave everything in so it’s definitely more like a meal and will fill you up as the fiber is still there. So I think a balance of juice and eating the whole fruit or veggie is actually ideal.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

