Skip to content

Greek-Inspired Lentil & Kale Soup

December 19, 2011

Since last Saturday (over a week ago) I’ve eaten approximately:

  • 3 lemon bars
  • 4 5.5 peanut butter cookie dough truffles
  • half a dozen creme wafer cookies
  • half a molten lava chocolate cake with vanilla bean ice cream
  • 3..okay maybe 4 of Grandma’s cinnamon rolls
  • 1 or 2 each of waffle cookie, candy cane cookie, cookies & creme fudge, creme de menthe brownie, chocolate crinkles, haystacks, etc….etc, etc.

Wow that’s a list.  I’d hate to know how much alcohol consumption washed this stuff down.  I believe there was merlot, pinot grigio, white zinfadel, Corona, Negra Modelo.  You get my drift.  I’m beginning to scare myself, no wonder my body wants to punch itself in the face.

So in an effort to cancel this out, not to mention the Christmas weekend ahead that will definitely  include much more sweets, wine, beer and all around tasty food – I made something healthy.  Yeah, I know it’s about time.  Obviously my usual fairly healthy diet has been crammed deep inside my pantry and produce drawer and out of sight.

I find that when my garden is sleeping, apparently my good eating habits do the same.  Thank goodness some garden greens from this season were hanging out in the freezer ready to be put to good use.

The lentils in the pantry and the kale in the freezer have saved me from potential sugar overdose and paired up well to create a delicious Greek-inspired healthy soup.  It’s the salty feta though that makes this whole thing…hey, least it’s not sugar.

Greek-Inspired Lentil & Kale Soup

Greek-Inspired Lentil & Kale Soup

Adapted from Healthy Green Kitchen

1-2 T olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

2 large carrots, peeled and chopped

1-2 cups frozen kale

2 cups green lentils, rinsed and picked clean

6 cups chicken stock/broth

1 can petite cut tomatoes

2 T olive oil

2 T red wine vinegar

Feta cheese, for garnish

Cucumber, chopped for garnish

Kalamata olive, chopped for garnish

Fresh parsley, chopped for garnish

In soup pot, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add onion and saute for a couple of minutes.  Then add garlic and carrots and saute another couple of minutes.  Stir in kale, lentils, broth and tomatoes.  Bring soup to a boil and then reduce heat and let simmer for at least one hour or until lentils are tender.

Before serving stir in olive oil and red wine vinegar.  Garnish each serving with desired feta, cucumber, olives and parsley.

Piece of cake (sorry can’t get sweets out of my mind).  For lunch I paired it with a few pretzels and hummus and it was fantastic.  I think I felt my digestive system, breathe a little sigh of relief.

Now you’ll have to excuse me…I have a peanut butter cookie dough truffle to finish.

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

