Skip to content

DIY: Garden Art in an Old Window

December 13, 2011

A couple of months ago, I had talked about giving the interior my home a little bit of loving with some wall decor garden art projects.  I’m totally proud of myself (and a little shocked) for holding true to that statement.  I guess this little blog thing makes you more accountable.  Although I did say I was going to do some seed saving and that never panned out….next year (I hope).

I recently posted about my diy garden art photo project in the living room using photos of my flowers from the garden.  When working on the photos for that project, I came across some garden vegetable pics that I really liked to so I edited and printed a group of those too.

An old window that was sitting in my living room for a potential wall gallery project, eventually inspired me to make it into a frame for my food photos to display in the kitchen.

Window frame with food photos

The window was from an old screen door that I had stashed in the basement since I moved into my house for just this kind of project.

old window project

Each window pane was about 9×12 inches, so I created a ‘mat board’ with burlap and poster board for a background for my 5×7 images.  It was really easy.  I cut the burlap larger than the poster board with at least two inches extra to secure to the back of the board.  I first just taped the burlap with painter’s tape.

I then centered each photo within the window panes using a square and tape measure, adhering the photos with double stick tape (I stole it from my window insulation kit again).  The only thing I would have done different here, is adhere the photos first to a stronger platform like a piece of foam board and then adhere to the burlap.  Since the burlap doesn’t get extremely tight and flat, the photos slightly bend up with the burlap.  You can see it here in the picture, but is not noticeable where it’s hung.

old window project

After the photos were evenly placed in their spots, I had Tyler staple the entire burlap board to the back of the window.  I then removed the blue painters tape since it was not needed anymore and then stapled a doubled layer of burlap across the entire back for a nice finished cover.

old window frame

Since the only space large enough for the window was above the fridge, we decided to hang the new window frame from the ceiling.  Using chain hooked onto a bracket thingy, the window hangs at an angle while it sits on the top of the fridge.

old window frame

I think the house is liking this extra attention it’s getting this winter.

I’ve got a couple more window projects, my dad helped me out with recently.  I’ll be sure to show you soon.

Would love to know what projects you’ve done with old windows.  Show me, tell me, link it  up.  

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 8:16 am

    I love what you did with the old window. I have a friend making a small greenhouse for me, am so excited!

  2. December 15, 2011 2:21 pm

    This is FABULOUS! I’ve been coveting some old windows….and when I find some, this is what I’m making! Pinning it.

  3. Mitch Byun permalink
    December 17, 2012 3:21 am

    garden vegetables like carrots can really help eye health.’

    Most up-to-date write-up from our very own web site
    http://www.prettygoddess.com/index.php?board=3.0

Trackbacks

  1. life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

