Skip to content

Cookie Swap Recap + My Favorite Xmas Cookie Recipe

December 12, 2011

Instead of living in hibernation this winter and crying on Tyler’s shoulder 24/7 cause I wish I could go out to my garden, I decided it’s about time to start doing some fun stuff.

This past weekend I hosted a Cookie Swap party at the Life in Green abode.  Never hosted or been to one before, but I think it turned out pretty darn well and everyone seemed to enjoy themselves.  And I was totally impressed with all the goodies everyone brought.

Cookie swap

We filled the dining room table and had even more on the other side.

cookie swap

And even more that came after I took these photos.  I had planned to take a bunch of photos, but get a drink in my hand and gals to chat with and the picture taking goes down hill. 🙂

cookie swap

We  had a little contest too, with the group voting on ‘Most Delicious-Looking’ and ‘Most Festive’.  Winners were Chocolate Peppermint Fudge Bites, which won a bottle of wine and Cake Balls, which won wine glasses and chiller.

The besties were part of the cookie swap crew. 🙂

friends

All the wine sipping (and beer at the bar afterwards), made for a nice relaxing Sunday of sipping on Pedialyte and a 3 1/2 hour nap.  Instead of crying on Tyler’s shoulder about being stuck inside, I told him I didn’t mind having to lay around all day since it’s not gardening season.  I guess the moral of the story is party hard in the winter, right?

I want to leave you with the recipe I made for the party.  It’s my all-time favorite holiday cookie and wouldn’t feel like Christmas without them.

creme wafers cookie swap

Creme Wafers

from Betty Crocker

Wafers:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup whipping cream

Granulated sugar

Creamy Filling:

3/4 cup powdered sugar

1/4 butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla extract

Red and green food coloring

In medium bowl, mix flour, 1 cup butter and the whipping cream with spoon. Cover and refrigerate about 1 hour or until firm.

Heat oven to 375ºF. Roll one-third of dough at a time 1/8 inch thick on lightly floured surface. (Keep remaining dough refrigerated until ready to roll.) Cut into desired shapes with 1 1/2-inch cookie cutters – I use a milk jug cap. Dip each cutout in sugar, turning each to coat both sides. Place on ungreased cookie sheet. Prick each cutout with fork about 4 times.

Bake 7 to 9 minutes or just until set but not brown. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely, about 1 hour.

Meanwhile, mix all Creamy Filling ingredients until smooth. Add a few drops water if necessary. Spread about 1/2 teaspoon filling between bottoms of pairs of cookies.  I like to half my frosting creating pink and green filling with food coloring.

What’s your favorite holiday treat?

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

