Skip to content

Decorating for the Holidays

November 29, 2011

How’s the holiday decorating going?  Have you had everything up since immediately after Thanksgiving or are you the type to whip out the tree last-minute?

I typically like to do the weekend after Thanksgiving, never before though.  I think that putting out Xmas decor kind of substitutes for garden activities, so I’m usually quite content inside until after the holidays.

For the tree, we always go for a fresh one.  I love the look, the smell and love having extra branches for additional decor and then later some good mulch for the flower beds.

This year’s tree is much smaller than usual.  We dubbed him Hank the Skank.  He’s a little sparse…and uneven.  But I like him.

Christmas tree

As for the rest of my decor, I’m just about finished.  I hope to finish some diy projects and my front porch decor by the weekend.

As I blared holiday stations on Pandora, the cat tried to help out by digging into every single box.  But I guess he got tired and needed a nap…in a sack.

More than I can say for this guy, who just let out a big ‘ol sigh as he watched me string lights on the tree with one eye open.

I swear he’s alive.

Such an odd pair they are.

Don’t you think they need some festive outfits for the holidays?

How’s your decorating coming?  I’ll give ya peek at the rest of the house when I get everything finished and boxes put up….hopefully before Christmas Day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 4:42 pm

    The Xmas tree looks great! We’ve got holiday decor on our minds right now, and we just love seeing people getting into the spirit.

    • November 29, 2011 6:56 pm

      Aside from gardening season…Xmas time is my fav time of the year! Just love the atmosphere and it’s so fun to dress up the house for a month every year.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

