Skip to content

Thanksgiving Procrastination

November 23, 2011

You all are completely organized for Thanksgiving, right?  House is clean, meals planned, groceries purchased, food prep started, right? Right?

Yeah riiiiight.  I’m totally not.

Fortunately I’m not hosting and all I have to do is bring a salad for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow and then a soup for an after-Thanksgiving party on Friday.  Now to figure out what the heck to make.

For a salad nothing leafy-green sounds good to me right now and I’m really not a fan of many jello-y, cool whippy or mayonnaise-y type salads, so my plan is to actually wing it.  So maybe experimenting with a dish, isn’t the best idea when you are taking something for a potluck-style feast….but it’s a salad, I hopefully can’t screw it up too bad.  And honestly what matters most is the turkey, dressing and pie, which I’m thankfully not in charge of!

Inspired by this Wild Rice Cranberry Pecan Salad from Simply Recipes…

image from simplyrecipes.com

I’m planning to fuse it with my recent Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash, minus the squash and the quinoa.

Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash

I’ll let you know how it turns out.  Fingers crossed!

And if I’m feeling ambitious these apple pie cookies might make an appearance as well.  Oh and as far as the Friday party, I’m thinking French Onion, but jazzed up a bit or something – can’t ever keep it simple.  :).

I  wish you all a very safe and happy Thanksgiving.  May you give and receive many thanks and stuff those tummies full!

What are you whipping up for Thanksgiving dinner?  Staying traditional or trying something new?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi Baier permalink
    November 25, 2011 1:35 pm

    I whipped up your grandma’s recipe for Butternut Squash Bake with the pecan/brown sugar/butter topping, but substituted sweet potatoes. We all loved it!

    • November 25, 2011 10:40 pm

      Wonderful…that is one of my all-time favorite dishes. Thinking I need to make it soon while squash are still in the grocery store. Hope you and your family had a great Thanksgiving.

Trackbacks

  1. Holiday Wild Rice Salad « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

