Skip to content

Dried Beans

November 14, 2011
tags: ,

Raise your hand if you like beans.

Raise both hands if you LOVE beans.

I’m totally raising both hands right now.  15-Bean Cajun Soup….oh yes, please.

15-bean mix

Pretty beans, huh? Yep, grew them all in my garden.  Yeah right – I actually grabbed them at the grocery store.  I sure wish they were homegrown, but so far I’ve only done snap beans and soybeans for fresh (or frozen) eating.

I’m determined to grow at least one variety of beans next year for a nice harvest of dried cooking beans.  Any tips on which varieties to consider?  We eat they typical black, red and white varieties commonly found at your grocery store, so I’m thinking I’d like to grow some less common varieties with some fun colors or markings.

Love the color of all these cooking beans from Seed Savers Exchange.  Perfect for the mason jars. 🙂

What varieties would you suggest to grow?  I’ve got limited space, so I would like a heavy producer, but as always flavor is super important. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 4:39 pm

    yay beans! I have heard rumours they are easy to grow, but as I kill everything…much luck! Nothing is better on a cold yukky day than good bean soup.

  2. November 15, 2011 9:22 am

    I’d def go with beans that aren’t common to the grocery store! But there are so many to choose from, so I don’t have any help for narrowing your choices down! Haha.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

