Skip to content

Stuffed Pepper Soup

November 2, 2011

A great fall season gave tender crops an extra couple weeks more than usual to continue producing out in the garden.  It’s been a couple of weeks since I harvested the last of my tender peppers, but I still had some great looking ones tucked away in the crisper just waiting for something special to happen to them.

My first thought was these stuffed peppers I made back in September.

Stuffed peppers ready for oven

Then I got all lazy and didn’t want to cook the rice first (which takes a good 35 minutes)  and then saute up the mixture and then finally roast the peppers.  But gee they sure sounded good.

Instead I decided to go with the easy solution and make…..soup!  I think this is becoming one of my new ‘things’, not enough time or ambition to make a meal then just throw it together and create a soup.  Stuffed peppers makes a great dish for this strategy.

Stuffed Pepper Soup

1 lb ground beef

2 large green peppers, chopped large

1 small onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced

2/3 C brown rice

3 1/4 C chicken broth

(2) 8 oz cans of tomato sauce

(1) 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes

1/8 to 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

Salt & pepper to taste

In a large saucepan, brown the ground beef and drain off grease.  Add peppers and onions to ground beef and cook over medium heat until onions start to become translucent.  Then add in garlic and cook for one more minute.

Stir in all of the remaining ingredients and bring soup to a boil.  Reduce heat to low and let simmer for at least 45 minutes, making sure brown rice is cooked tender.

Serve up with some fresh chopped parsley or basil and a good helping of grated Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed pepper soup

I’m crazy for soups, so I was not surprised when I decided I liked this version better than the real thing.  This is one of those recipes that gets better each time you eat it – perfect for lunchtime leftovers.

Now I’ve got a problem.  All my peppers are gone.  Bummer.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

