Skip to content

Soup’s On!

October 21, 2011

It’s getting chilly outside, so there’s no better time to drag out the crock pot or big pots for some yummy simmered soup.

The other night while sitting down over a bowl of stew, I declared that this winter we will be eating lots and lots of soups.  Which could get frightening since I usually make two kinds per week in colder months already.

Here are some of my favorite soups/stews that I make regularly.  Sometimes I make identical to the recipe and sometimes I change it up a bit depending on what’s in stock in my kitchen.

Iowa Girl Eats White Chili – I seriously make this a lot.  Love it.

Iowa Girl Eat's White Chili

image from iowagirleats.com

Cooking Light’s Basic Beef Stew with Carrots and Mushrooms – I made this recipe just this week and have been making it for a few years now.  Definitely our favorite stew.  I also love it ’cause it gives me a great excuse to open a bottle of red wine.  Nevermind, no excuse is ever needed for that.

Cooking Light's Basic Beef Stew

image from cookinglight.com

I really love soups that clear out the sinuses.  This Simple Chicken Tortilla Soup is not overly spicy but does the job.  I usually just throw in plain Fritos when serving rather than cutting up tortillas.

Simple Chicken Tortilla Soup

image from tastykitchen.com

Lentil Soup with Smoked Sausage – This was a new one for me last year, but I will definitely be making it again this season.  This recipe made me fall in love with lentils.

Lentil Soup from Good Life Eats

image from goodlifeeats.com

Chicken & Vegetable Bean Soup – This is one that Tyler discovered a couple of years ago when he was on a crock pot kick and purchased a BHG slow cooker cookbook .  We sub potatoes for the fennel and let it cook away in the crock pot.  Healthy and filling.

BHG's Chicken & Vegetable Bean soup

image from bhg.com

Pioneer Woman’s Chicken & Dumplings – I can’t wait to make this again.  I went into a blissful food coma after eating this one.  Not kidding.

PW Chicken & Dumplings

image from thepioneerwoman.com

The Best Fresh Onion Soup – This recipe is from Cook’s Illustrated and has you caramelize onions in the oven (brilliant idea).  I’ve only made it once as it does take some time and effort, but the results are worth it.

Cook's Illustrated French Onion Soup

image from cookography.com

Oh and I can’t forget to mention the crock pot potato soup we always make.  It’s from Fix-It and Forget-It Lightly, so it’s easy and low in fat.  I like that it doesn’t use any canned condensed soups, just low-fat cream cheese.  It’s not a super creamy one, but very flavorful and a recipe Tyler requests a lot.  Next time I make it, I will share with you.

There you go… some of my tried and tested favorites, I’m sure new one’s are to be discovered this year as well.  What are your favs?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 4:34 pm

    Lovely soups. Nice photography.

    • October 21, 2011 4:39 pm

      Thank you – these soups are good. Can’t take credit for the photos though – they are from the sites listed below each image.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

