Skip to content

Time for a nap

October 17, 2011

Um, brr. 

I believe we might be breaking down and turning on the furnace tonight.  I’m pretty sure I may have been blue when I got out of the shower this morning.  Definitely not a shave-my-legs type of morning, but wait who I’m kidding…it rarely is.  TMI?  Sorry.

This weekend I did a lot of work in the garden, starting to tuck it in for its winter nap.  Temps here are likely to drop below freezing in the next few nights, so I figured I better harvest what I can and go ahead and clean up.  Pretty much only two of the eight raised beds remain with growing goods.

My work was closely supervised by this guy.  Looking so attentive, I sure wuv my doodle.

henry dog

I also clipped a bunch of hydrangea blooms and laid them out to dry.  I hope to get around to hanging them tonight to complete the drying process.  Then maybe some crafty project down the road with these.

Drying hydrangeas

In the morning while it was still chilly outside, I did some baking.  I honestly had a lot of fun making these  Apple Pie Cookies from Smitten Kitchen. 

making apple pie cookies

Not a huge fan of traditional apple pie, I sure had fun eating them too though.  I ate three of these babies yesterday.  Super delicious.  Tyler loved them too. 

apple pie cookies

I took these over to my grandparent’s for Dad’s bday dinner with Grandpa’s famous Chinese spread.  <—Yum.  Grandma made Apple Crisp and Apple Cake with Rum Sauce, so we definitely did not have an apple shortage. 

As much as I like these, I refused to bring them home.  Too much sugar makes me a pain…literally, I get all achy when I eat lots of sweets with refined sugar and I’ve had my fair share of the stuff lately.apple pie cookies

But dang it…I sure wish I had just one left.  Oh so flaky and sweet.

I’ve been hitting it lucky with the baking.  The past few things I’ve tried have been great and these are absolutely no exception.  Please make these this fall and please visit Smitten Kitchen for the recipe.  Follow her instructions and you will have absolutely no problem with this little treat.

Happy Baking (and gardening)!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 7:12 pm

    Wow, you sure were productive over the weekend. Sounds like you accomplished a bunch of stuff. The pictures of your sweet dog are a reminder of a dog my parents had a long time ago. His name was Smokey. The apple cookie tarts look scrumptious. I am definitely checking out Smitten Kitchen. Your posts are very engaging and motivating.

    Thanks,

    Vickie

    • October 17, 2011 7:38 pm

      My pup is Henry – he’s a labradoodle and such a sweet, silly boy.

      Those apple pie cookies were wonderful…I little effort goes a long way with this recipe. And Smitten Kitchen is one of the best…if not the best food blog out there. Every recipe I’ve made from her has been great.

      Thanks for reading!

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Procrastination « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

