Skip to content

Tomato Eats

October 11, 2011

Gardening season for me here in Zone 5 is still alive.  Though there aren’t any crazy big harvests of stuff, the peppers, tomatoes and fall greens are still giving me things to eat.  Tonight for supper are fajitas made with garden bell peppers.  Good stuff.

On Sunday I harvested a ton of cherry tomatoes and many beefsteak tomatoes.  Hopefully I can be productive and use these up for some good meals later this week.  Looking back at this tomato growing season, I made a lot of good stuff this year with my garden tomatoes.  If you need any dinner ideas for the last of your garden tomato crop…I can tell you my tummy got full on the following! 🙂

Roasted Heirloom Tomato Sauce made with these beauties.

Fresh tomatoes ready to roast

Heirlooms on a pizza make for another pretty and delicious choice.

Heirloom tomatoes on pizza

Different colored tomatoes chopped up for a ‘skinny’ bruschetta was oh-so-fresh and good.

Skinny Bruschetta with Sauteed Spinach

Of course you can’t forget a good ‘ol BLT.  I have some bacon in the fridge, I’m thinking one last bacon tomato sandwich for the year.

Classic BLT

Or take it one step further and put the best foods of summer onto a pizza.  I know it’s fall….but for summer nostalgia, c’mon.

BLT & Grilled Corn pizza

My favorite (which I’ve probably mentioned 89 times here already) was this crazy delicious baked pasta sauce using cherry tomatoes.  Ugh, so good.

Baked Tomato Sauce with Campedelle pasta

Would love to hear what your tomato winning meals were this season.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 11:06 am

    I so enjoy your Garden Posts. The pictures & recipes sound absolutely divine. Thanks for all the great ideas. I ate my last ripe garden tomato last night with fresh mozzarella, fresh basil, olive oil with balsamic vinegar, sea salt & freshly ground pepper. Simple & refreshing! Oh & a wonderful glass of Pinot Noir.

    • October 12, 2011 11:54 am

      Yum…I love fresh mozzarella and garden tomatoes. My kind of food…and drink.

      Thanks for reading, I’ve very glad you enjoy!

Trackbacks

  1. life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

