Skip to content

Gardening can be a pain

October 10, 2011

What a day.  Actually I’ve done practically nothing.  I woke up around 4:30am with a horrible headache and some wicked spasms in my neck and shoulder, so I stayed home and finally dragged myself out of bed a little before noon.

I’m pretty sure my pain can be attested to my garden activities from the weekend.  Same with the minor sunburn and 67 bug bites on my arms and legs…those pesky little black bugs are crazy biters.

I’m still bummed without my dSLR camera slinged around my neck, but here’s a view through the ‘ol point & shoot and my new phone from around my yard this weekend.

This was one of my weekend projects, which consisting of shoveling and hauling small gravel to fill in a walkway that borders a flower bed and leads from the side garage door to the driveway.  I’m guessing this is the source of my pain today…all that shoveling and stuff kills me every time.

Walkway

I used leftover rock that was used in the pathways of my kitchen garden.  No worries…I’ll show you how that turned out soon.

Next was a harvest from the fall garden which includes these crackly but pretty heirloom beefsteaks as well as a HUGE bowl of cherry tomatoes.

Fall heirloom tomatoes

We are well into October and the garden is still kicking, this has really been a great fall season.  Now if we could only get some rain….I’m such a horrible waterer.

kitchen garden on October 9, 2011

Then I decided to mow, well mulch since there were really more leaves to mulch than grass to cut.

Fall mowing

I used the bagger on the mower to get a good supply of mulched leaves for my compost bin.  I could go about 2 passes before the bag was completely filled and needed to be emptied.

leaves in compost bin

This work resulted in a much needed reward.  A juicy, Honeycrisp.

Honeycrisp apple

Catch up on any yard or garden work this past weekend?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    October 11, 2011 8:41 am

    Your garden looking incredible and I know the hard work you and Ty have put into it. Hard work pays off!

  2. October 11, 2011 9:12 am

    Thanks Chell!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

