Skip to content

Herb Crazy

October 5, 2011

So what do you do when the dSLR is in the shop?  Order a new phone.  I was due for an upgrade and went ahead ordered a new phone with a…wait for it….8 megapixel camera.  No it’s not the new iPhone, but the Electrify and should be in my hands by as early as tomorrow.

In the meantime it’s sure a good thing I snapped a lot of photos before the dang card slot decided it hated me.

Remember yesterday’s cornbread?  Well I served it with some steak and ‘tators the other day.

I asked for a sirloin steak at the meat counter and the dude gave me this guy.  Mr. Hugh Jass was the size of my head…times two.

sirloin steak

I figured such a big guy needed to be dressed up a little more than usual, so I marinated him in an olive oil, garlic, fresh thyme and rosemary mixture for a few hours.

Sirloin steak with olive oil marinade

This beautiful 80+ degree weather has made for some great late-season grilling.  Mmm…juicy!

Grilled steak

But my fav part of this meal wasn’t the steak or the cornbread.  It was these creamy, herb-y mashed potatoes made with red potatoes from the garden, real butter, goat cheese and fresh chives.  I like my ‘tators dressed up with lots of flavor and these were one of the best mashed potatoes ever!

Steak, cornbread and mashed potatoes

And yes I do always take the fillet part of a steak. Hehe. I could only eat half of that portion, but I sure went back for more potatoes.

How do you like your mashed potatoes?  Just butter? Gravy? Everything but the kitchen sink?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 7:25 pm

    I need a good mashed potato recipe – looks awesome!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

