Skip to content

Pumpkin Rosemary Cornbread

October 4, 2011

I finally used my lonesome can of pumpkin.  I’ve been inspired by so many great pumpkin recipes all over the web, it was about time I cracked this baby open.

TJ pumpkin

Inspired most by this Pumpkin Cornbread recipe posted via the Tasty Kitchen Blog, I came up with my own cornbread recipe adding pumpkin and an ingredient from the garden (no surprise there, huh?)….rosemary!

Pumpkin Rosemary Cornbread

Sorry but I just can’t resist adding fresh herbs into my baked goods.  I just LOVE when I get to eat stuff I grow, even if it is in small components.  And if you’re not a rosemary fan, just skip it…it’ll be good either way.

Pumpkin Rosemary Cornbread

1/4 C butter, melted

1/2 C sugar

2 eggs

1 can of pumpkin puree

1 C flour

1 T baking powder

1 C cornmeal

1 tsp fresh rosemary, chopped

cornbread batter

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease a 8″x8″ baking pan.  In medium bowl stir together melted butter and sugar.  Add eggs and mix well, and then add pumpkin and mix until combined.

In small bowl stir together dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, cornmeal and rosemary.  Add dry ingredients into pumpkin mixture and stir until just combined.  Pour batter into pan and smooth out evenly.

Bake for approximately 30 minutes.

Baked pumpkin cornbread

You definitely want to dig into this while it’s still warm.  The pumpkin adds a great light flavor and makes a really moist cornbread.  Let’s face it…who likes a dry, crumbly cornbread?  The small amount of fresh rosemary adds a light flavor as well and is almost mint-like.  It definitely adds a great aroma too.

Pumpkin Rosemary Cornbread

This bread would make a great companion as a side to any meal and probably a good dunker for soup too.  I enjoyed my first piece sweetened up a little more with a nice big drizzle of honey.

Pumpkin Rosemary Cornbread with honey

Definitely making this one again – such a great fall bread!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

