Skip to content

Potluck Cakes

October 3, 2011

Today I am bummed.  My ejector for my SD card on my camera has went kaputz.  On the upside the dude was able to pull out my card undamaged.  On the downside it’s going to take around two weeks to get the darn thing fixed.

Sorry to break it to you Tyler, but that point-and-shoot you’ve taken over to scope out ginormous white-tailed buck #329 is getting used for food and garden in the interim.  😉

Please bear with me these next couple weeks, I may have to get a little more creative here on the blog.  Oh my.

Got one of my fav sweet recipes today though!

olive oil cakes

I had an extended family reunion this weekend, which I was actually not planning on attending until my aunt bribed me with wine.  Wine will make me cave…everytime.  I’m really glad I went though. 🙂

Total last minute decision to go to the potluck and of course my fridge looked like this.  Oh no.

empty fridge

And it was after 4:30PM and was getting picked up at 6PM.  I sifted through some recipes in my recipe organizer and online which killed another 15 minutes and pretty much left out the option to make a grocery run.  I really wanted to use something with garden ingredients (not that I don’t always want to) and saw the light when I flipped to the dessert section of my organizer.  There it was…’Olive Oil Cakes with Lemon & Thyme’.

I made this recipe last winter when I still had a lush pot of thyme overwintering inside, shortly before it shed itself bare.  I forgot to water.

A quick scan of the ingredient list and it was a go.  Lemon, check.  Fresh thyme, check.  Less than 30 minutes to bake, check.  Amazingly tasty and looks like I went to a lot of work but didn’t, checkolive oil cakes

Olive Oil Cakes with Lemon & Thyme

from ashleymac @ tastykitchen.com

1 T melted butter

1-⅓ C sugar

2 T grated lemon zest

2 whole eggs

¼ C olive oil

⅔ C whole milk

1 C flour

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 tsp fresh thyme, minced

FOR THE GLAZE:

1-½ C powdered sugar

2 T melted butter

3 T fresh lemon juice, or more as needed

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a muffin pan with melted butter and then dust with a little bit of flour. Pulse the sugar and lemon zest in a blender until combined. Add the eggs one at a time, then gradually pour in the olive oil and milk, pulsing until emulsified into a thin batter, about 30 seconds. Don’t overblend or the cakes will be too puffy.

Whisk one cup flour, the baking powder, salt and thyme in a small bowl. Add to the blender in 2 batches until just combined. Pour the batter unto the prepared pan and bake until the cakes just start to pull away from the sides of the pan and spring back when lightly touched, about 25 minutes depending on your oven.

In the meantime, make the glaze: whisk the powdered sugar, melted butter and lemon juice until smooth, adding more lemon juice if too thick. Drizzle over the cooled cakes and garnish with a thyme sprig.

*I made about 2/3 a recipe of the glaze since I didn’t have enough powdered sugar for the full recipe and I still had lots of glaze left.  And instead of drizzling, I just dunked the top of the cakes into the glaze for a nice clean look. 

batter of olive oil cakes

This isn’t your typical cake or muffin batter.  It’s mixed up in a blender into a thin batter that is then poured into your muffin tin.  Mmm..it smells so fresh from the lemon and thyme.

Olive oil cakes with lemon & thyme

I love desserts that include fresh herbs.  Remember my Strawberry Cupcakes with Strawberry & Thyme sauce?

These olive oil cakes are wonderful, I swear.  I had three people at the potluck ask me for the recipe.  The level of lemon flavor is just perfect and the cakes are so moist and fluffy they are addicting.  A great sweet treat for when you want something refreshing and not overly rich.

I didn’t even eat one, so I’m thinking I better another batch soon.  Gosh, there sure was some good food at the potluck…my family knows how to eat!

What do you like to take to potlucks?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 2:02 pm

    My gosh, Lisa, those look SO good! Thyme and Lemon? I wouldn’t have thought of it.

    I usually bring a variety of dessert. The last potluck I went to I brought pot de creme and an Indonesian dessert: sweet mung bean + coconut milk.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

