Skip to content

Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

September 27, 2011

My cherry tomato plant is still kicking and actually producing some of the best ripe and blemish free fruits right now.

I’m actually proud of myself for not having a cherry tomato overload meltdown this year.  With a little meal planning and creativity I’ve been able to make much better use of the large crop of cherry tomatoes than in past years.

I’ve made this crazy good Baked Pasta Sauce.

Baked Tomato Sauce from Smitten Kitchen

This lasagna.

I put some in the freezer.

I also used some in a twist on bruschetta.

And of course topped onto pizza like a gazillion times.  I seriously went pizza crazy this summer.

With the latest crop I roasted them with some salmon.

Cherry tomatoes on salmon

Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

adapted from Cooking Light

1 1/2 C of cherry tomatoes, halved

1 T olive oil

1 tsp fresh thyme

1 tsp fresh rosemary

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/8 tsp salt

1/9 tsp pepper

1 12 oz salmon fillet (or 2 60z fillets)

Fresh lemon juice

Roasted Cherry tomatoes & salmon

Preheat oven to 400°.  Season your fillet with salt and pepper and fresh herbs (I used just a little bit of rosemary and thyme).

Combine first 7 ingredients in a jelly roll pan; toss to coat tomatoes. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes. Add fish to pan. Bake an additional 10 minutes or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Serve the tomato mixture over fish. Drizzle with lemon juice.

Quinoa with Salmon

I made a warm and savory quinoa salad for a side that was a great complement to the sweet flavor of the roasted tomatoes.  Creamy goat cheese on top was definitely a winner.

Can’t get enough of quinoa.

Quinoa and salmon

Dang it, now I’m hungry.  Off to make supper.  Thinking its a Taco Tuesday kind of night.

What are you making for supper?

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

