Skip to content

Don’t Forget the Veggies

September 20, 2011

Are you a veggie lover or not so much?

I would guess it’s pretty obvious that I am.  I sure didn’t install a new kitchen garden just to look at it.

But sometimes ‘what’s for dinner’ can be forgetful of our dear veggie friends.  I had this thought when deciding to make enchiladas and realized I usually just make enchiladas with no side.  Yeah, maybe some lettuce or avocado gets thrown on top but nothing close to classify as a serving of vegetables.  Oh and did you know we are supposed to be getting 9 servings of fruits & vegetables a day?  That can be awful challenging.

So this time I decided it wasn’t necessary to skip out on a side and came up with something super easy and super vegetable-y.

Enchiladas with roasted sweet potatoes

Anytime you need to add some vegetables to your meal, you can absolutely never go wrong with roasting. 

To complement my enchiladas, I chopped up a sweet potato, a red onion and a sweet red pepper.  Then drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with salt, pepper and cumin.  Man, do we go through the cumin here…LOVE that stuff.  And roasted in a 400 degree oven for around 30 minutes.

Some leftover black beans were in the fridge so I added that to the roasted vegetables as well as half a diced avocado.  I generous squeeze of lime juice and that was it.  If I had fresh cilantro I definitely would have added that, but it’s been long gone from the garden.   This made two nice-sized servings.

Roasted sweet potatoes, red peppers, onions

Chop –> drizzle –> sprinkle –> roast  –> eat. Pretty easy way to get an extra veggie serving or two to your meal.  And you can do whatever combination of things you want.  Some of my roasting favorites are potatoes (all kinds), asparagus, broccoli, onions, cauliflowers and mushrooms.  Keep it simple too, you just need olive oil, S&P, a fresh/dry herb or two and maybe some garlic.   Then if you want to fancy it up a little for guests, add in some extras like beans, nuts, dried fruit or a make a simple sauce to pour over. 

That’s what I love about roasting vegetables, you really don’t need a recipe as you can  just utilize what’s in your fridge.  Keep it simple and it will always be delicious as the flavor of the vegetables are what really stand out. 

Roasted sweet potatoes

Please share – what are your favorite roasted veggie combinations?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 11:57 am

    This looks so good! I was actually thinking of making roasted vegs for dinner! I actually love roasted potatoes and broccoli. A little weird, but I like how tender the broccoli gets and it gets a little charred on the outside, too! And with fresh rosemary. Your combo looks fantastic!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

