Skip to content

the Chilly Cure

September 19, 2011
tags: ,

Apparently you all made chili last week/weekend.  I went to the grocery store Saturday and there were two cans of Tex Mex style chili beans and 1 can of light kidney beans left and a whole lot of empty shelf space.

It got chilly… and the best thing to fight chilly with is, well…chili.  I totally get it.  That’s why I made chili too.

I bet you all have your own personal way to make chili – it’s such a great dish that really never requires a recipe and can be made with a gazillion different flavor combinations.  I rarely make it exactly the same way.

Chili

Actually to be honest, chili wasn’t immediately on my radar until I saw Jessica at How Sweet It Is post her latest chili.  And while her style of making chili is really similar to my own, she added something I had never had in chili before.  In addition to ground beef, she had chunks of pork ribs and chuck roast, a whopping 3 meats.  Now that’s hearty, man-friendly stuff.

So after seeing her recipe I totally had to steal some of her ideas. 🙂  So here’s what I came up with.  I ended up basing the proportions off of Jessica’s recipe cause I wanted to make a big ‘ol pot like her.

chili with pork

Chili to Cure the Chilly

a combo of my usual method and How Sweet It Is chili recipe

2 lbs boneless country-style pork ribs, chunked

1 1/2 lb ground beef

1 onion, chopped

1 green pepper, chopped

1/2 sweet red pepper, chopped

2 stalks celery, chopped (My strategy is to add in as many veggies as possible)

2 whole carrots, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 jalapeno, chopped

2 28 oz cans of crushed tomatoes

2 15 oz cans of tomato sauce

1/2 6 oz  can of tomato paste

2 cans of red or kidney beans, rinsed (I used one of each and use black sometimes too)

12 oz of beer (I used a yummy Fat Tire)

5 T chili powder

3 T cumin

Tabasco sauce to taste

Salt & pepper to taste

Brown the chunks of pork in olive oil in large pot, just like you would if making a stew. When browned set aside and add onions, peppers, carrots and celery and saute until tender.  Add garlic and jalapeno and saute a minute or two.  Add in ground beef and cook until browned and crumbled well.  Then add pork back into the pot.

Throw in the rest of ingredients, mixing well.  Bring the pot to a full simmer and then cover and let simmer for as long as you want.  I’d say a minimum of 3 hours.  You could also pour into a crock pot and slow cook that way.

Pork in chili

Pretty general chili guidelines right?  So if you like your own method, definitely stick with that.  What you so need to do though, is add in that pork.  Slow cooked and so tender it will take any chili from plain jane to something to talk about.  Obviously…I’m talking about it now.

So next time you all buy the store out of chili beans…you’d better be buying some pork too.  🙂

While I do love a good bowl of plain chili with beans…my true love is for white chili with green chiles and white beans.  What style is your fav?  

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

