Skip to content

Lasagna with Kale & Sausage

September 16, 2011

I had an interesting encounter last night as I was cooking dinner.  It involved kale cooking away on the stove-top and um, well…cabbage worms.  Well done cabbage worms, actually.  Let’s just say those little boogers can hide!

Fresh picked Kale

While I can’t say that no cabbage worms were harmed during this process.  I can definitely say that no worms were ingested…believe me I picked a part every darn piece.

Hee. Bee. Gee. Bees.  Check your kale well!  Mine was from my garden and washed thoroughly.

kale and green beans in the garden

Despite the worm incident, dinner was surprisingly successful.  I really didn’t have any expectations for this recipe I picked out, so I suppose that helps.  When I was searching through the cooked kale, I was having flashbacks of vegetarian enchiladas I made last Spring with frozen chopped spinach.  Holy rank that stuff was so nasty.  I must have picked up a bad box cause the taste was so passed bitter I can’t even describe it.  Tyler, you remember those? Ew.  With that in mind, you can say my expectations were actually quite low for this dish then.

Gosh, you’re really going to want to eat after reading this post, huh?  Sorry.

But here’s what I made…and liked!  Though I am a summer girl to the core, I’ve in love with using my oven again.  It’s been nice to use to help warm up the house too…Brr!

Lasagna with Kale & Sausage

from marthastewart.com

12 ounces spicy Italian sausage, removed from casings and crumbled

2 large onions, halved and thinly sliced (4 cups)

1 to 2 bunches kale (1 1/2 pounds), thick stems removed

4 garlic cloves, minced

Coarse salt and ground pepper

8 ounces lasagna noodles (about 9 noodles), each broken crosswise into 4 to 6 pieces

1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes, halved

3 cups part-skim ricotta cheese

1/2 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a 5-quart pot, cook sausage over medium heat, stirring often, until browned, about 5 minutes. Stir in onions; cover, and cook until softened, 5 minutes. Uncover; cook, stirring occasionally, until golden brown, 10 to 15 minutes. Add garlic; cook 2 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl.

Add kale and 1/2 cup water to pot; season with salt and pepper. Cover; cook over medium-low heat, tossing occasionally, until tender, 10 to 15 minutes. Drain; coarsely chop. Transfer to bowl with onions.

Meanwhile, cook noodles 2 minutes less than package instructions. Drain; rinse under cold water.
Add noodles, tomatoes, and ricotta to the bowl; season with 1 1/2 teaspoons salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. Toss well. Pour into a 9-by-13-inch baking dish; smooth top with a spatula. Sprinkle with Parmesan. Bake until golden brown, about 40 minutes. Cool 10 minutes before serving.

Lasagna with kale and sausage

I also added in about 1/2 C of shredded mozzarella cheese that I had in my fridge that needed used up, probably wasn’t enough to make a significant impact on flavor though.

The best part is that Parmesan crust on top.  Don’t you just love the golden, crunchy stuff?

Lasagna with Kale  & Sausage

Don’t forget the wine.  Pasta should never be eaten without a glass. 🙂

Lasagna with Kale & Spinach

With the heat of summer long gone, have you had your oven doing double duty yet?

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

