Skip to content

My Lap Dog

September 12, 2011

My favorite birthday present last week was something very practical but unique and most importantly–special to me. 

Tea towels.  Whaaa you say?  Yes, but not any old tea towel.

The only kind I’ve ever used my entire life.  Soft, white and embroidered with love from my Grandma.  Check out my latest set…they have Henry’s on them. 

tea towels

They also are only Monday through Friday…guess that means no dishes are to be done on the weekends.  I like these even more!

And speaking of Henry…at a solid 80+ lbs, he still thinks he’s a lap dog. 

Henry & Lisa

Actually I think this might be his strategy to get me off of ‘his’ chair.  I’m sure he’s always thinking ‘what in the heck are they doing on my furniture?’.  If you come to my house there is always a good chance you’ll see Henry sprawled on the couch with all four legs in the air.

 That’s also my ‘I’m-smiling-’cause-it-might-help me-breathe-easier-face’.  He’s a tank I tell ya.

If you have this issue and you can’t get off the chair or couch for hours because a big furball has you trapped, it probably means you are dining in for the night. 

Good thing I found a tasty chinese take-in recipe for you to try.  I tested it out this weekend and give it a thumbs up.  Fan of General Tso’s?  Yeah, I thought so.

General Tso's chicken

General Tso’s Chicken

from Rebecca at Foodiewithfamily.com

FOR THE CHICKEN:

1-½ teaspoon Toasted Sesame Oil

1 Tablespoon Soy Sauce

1 whole Large Egg White

¼ cups Plus 2 Tablespoons Cornstarch

1 pound Boneless, Skinless Chicken Thighs

Canola, Peanut, Or Vegetable Oil For Frying

FOR THE SAUCE:

1 Tablespoon Peanut, Canola Or Vegetable Oil

2 cloves Garlic, Peeled And Minced

2 Tablespoons Finely Chopped Fresh Ginger Root

1 cup Chicken Broth Or Stock

¼ cups Soy Sauce

1 Tablespoon Cornstarch

1 teaspoon Chinese Chile-garlic Sauce

3 Tablespoons Raw (turbinado Or Demerara) Sugar – I used brown sugar

General Tso's Chicken from Foodie w/ Family

Prep your chicken:
In a mixing bowl, stir together the sesame oil, soy sauce, egg white, and 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of cornstarch until a thick slurry forms. It will look gummy but smooth.

Add the chicken pieces and stir until all are evenly coated. At first it may appear that it will not come together but it does!
Set chicken aside, covered lightly with plastic wrap, at room temperature for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Begin the sauce:
Add the tablespoon of oil to a large, heavy-bottomed saucepan over high heat. Stir the garlic and ginger into the oil and cook, stirring constantly, until fragrant, about 1 minute.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the remaining sauce ingredients until smooth. Pour into the garlic and ginger, stirring, until the sauce becomes thick and shiny. Once the sauce thickens, lower heat and keep the saucepan over a low burner partially covered to stay warm.

To fry the chicken:
Heat 1/2-inches of oil in a heavy-bottomed, high-sided frying pan or skillet over high heat.

When the oil is shimmering, add one piece of chicken at a time, taking care not to crowd the pan. Cook chicken for 4 minutes on each side, or until deep golden brown and crisp on both sides.

Transfer the fried chicken to a paper towel lined plate and repeat the process until you’ve cooked all the chicken.

Then slide all of the fried chicken into the prepared sauce and toss to coat. Increase the heat to medium, stir and cook just until hot all the way through.

General Tso's chicken

This recipe takes a little bit of time and preparation to complete all steps (and if you still stuck under a furball hopefully someone else is willing to cook)…but so well worth it and tastes just as good as any General Tso’s  you’ll find at a Chinese buffet or restaurant.  Plus you know exactly what went in it and how long it’s been off the stove. 

Serve with rice and some steamed or sautéed fresh veggies (something from the garden, perhaps) and dig in.

What’s your favorite Chinese dish? 

I’m pretty partial to sweet and sour chicken or beef and broccoli.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 3:59 pm

    Aw! I love big dogs! I used to have dishclothes like that and I used them until there was nothing left of them! Loved them. The General Tso’s Chicken sounds delicious!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

