Skip to content

Happy Labor Day Weekend

September 2, 2011

Can you believe it’s Labor Day weekend already?  Wasn’t it just Memorial Day – the start of summer? 

Now it’s the end.  Darn.  Though I must say I’m semi-excited for fall – I just feel like it’s going to be a great 2011 season and I’m ready to enjoy all it has to offer.  And I’ve still got lots of gardening activities to keep me entertained until winter hits.

And with all holidays, I want to know what you guys are eating?!  Are you doing picnics, outdoor BBQ or potlucks?  Better share some with me.

If you need a little food inspiration for the weekend…

How about a last hurrah for grilled dogs and burgers.

I’d go for a hot dog every time if it looked like this one from Pinch of Yum.

Pinch of Yum Hot Dog Bar

Or if you prefer burgers try this tasty looking Black & Bleu Burger with gorgonzola and bacon from Simply Scratch.

Black & Bleu Burger from Simply Scratch

If you’re looking for something maybe a bit more sophisticated-ish, I’ve sure been itching to try Adam’s Cedar Plank Smoked Salmon from Eat Live Run.  If you make this before me – tell me how it was!  

Adam's Cedar Plank Smoked Salmon from ELR

And of course throw some tasty sides in there, but definitely do not forget dessert – it’s the holidays!

I made these Cookies and Cream Cheesecake Bars from Recipe Girl for Memorial Day weekend and thought they were great.

Cookies & Cream Cheesecake Bars from Recipe Girl

And don’t these Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Dulce de Leche Cream Cheese Frosting from Live Love Pasta look and sound friggin’ awesome?!

Carrot Cake Cupcakes with Dulce de Leche Cream Cheese Frosting

Have a great one with some great food!

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

