Skip to content

Add a tomato

August 31, 2011

I’m still in Mission Prevent Tomato Rot (without actually canning anything). 

#1 Strategy – Eat a tomato for lunch.

#2 Strategy – Eat a tomato for dinner.

#3 Strategy – Eat a tomato for midnight snack.

And finally #4 Strategy – Add a tomato to anything I cook.

We love our enchiladas here and I make them quite frequently.  Tyler usually requests chicken with green sauce so I whipped a batch up recently. 

Chicken Enchiladas with tomato

Looky there.  A tomato made its way onto my enchiladas as part of Strategy #4.  And since I made green enchiladas, I had to use a green-when-ripe tomato.  This one is called Cherokee Green and is the freshest-tasting tomato I’ve ever eaten. 

And of course only half got a ‘mater.  Somebody gets picky when it comes to tomatoes.

Chicken Enchiladas with green sauce

Enjoyed with some tasty chips, salsa and Corona Light.

chips and salsa

Good stuff!

What do you add tomatoes to that’s maybe not so traditional?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2011 8:39 am

    Yum! I’ve been loving on the tomatoes too.
    My favorite way as of late is grilling tomatoes. Not untraditional, but tasty nonetheless!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

