Skip to content

i need groceries

August 28, 2011

I’ve been so bad lately about going to the grocery store on a consistent or planned basis.  Although it has been nice because I haven’t spent a lot of money on groceries and I’m using the garden up well, it’s also led me to eat a little less balanced than usual. 

All my melons from the garden have been long eaten. 😦

blacktail mountain watermelon

While tomatoes, pepper, onions and potatoes are plentiful around here, I’ve been substituting fresh whole fruit and other veggies for crackers or bread or cookies or pizza.   I’m completely not anti-carb and think they are completely necessary in moderation, but my body tends to tell me when I’ve had too much.  And I’ve had too much–especially too many simple carbs or stuff with refined sugars which makes my entire body ache.  Refined sugar causes inflammation and when I’ve had too much, my neck to my hips just ache. 

If you ever just feel sluggish or achy – you should be looking to your diet to see if it’s causing your troubles.  You are what you eat – believe it!

So to summarize…not going to the grocery store makes my body hurt.  Wha?

This week I’m planning to get back to my weekly shop with a list and a meal plan.  I can tell already it’s not going to be pretty. 🙂

chickpea burger in pita pocket

If  you’re in the same boat as me, let me try to help out with a simple dinner idea that’s pretty healthy, utilizes some garden ingredients and will only require a few things to add to your grocery list.

Chickpea burgers

Chickpea Burger Pockets

burger adapted from eatingwell.com

1 16 oz can of chickpeas, rinsed

4 green onions, sliced

1 egg

2 T panko bread crumbs

1 T fresh oregano, chopped

1/2 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp Fresh cracked black pepper

Place all ingredients into food processor.  Pulse, stopping a couple of times to scrape the sides down, until coarse mixture firms that holds together when pressed. Form into 4 patties.

Heat a tablespoon or more of olive oil in skillet over medium-high heat.  Add patties and cook until golden, about 4 minutes.  Flip and cook other side until golden and heated all the way through. 

Prepare any toppings of your choice.  I went with sliced heirloom tomatoes, baby greens from the garden, thinly sliced red tomato, a few sautéed mushrooms and a small sprinkle of shredded cheese.  I would also suggest a dollop of greek yogurt, unfortunately I was out.

And finally load everything into a warmed whole-wheat pita pocket. 

Chickpea Burger pockets

Make it. Eat it. Like it.

Here’s to a great week, with a little less sugar and little more fruit & veg.

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

