Skip to content

i need a cookie

August 23, 2011
tags: ,

“I need a cookie soon or I might die!”

Yep I really said that last week.  Actually I said it like everyday last week.  I really wanted a freakin’ cookie and not some crappy boxed cookie but a really chewy, so-not-good-for-you homemade one.

Chocolate Crunch Cookies

So I took matters into my own hands and made my all time favorite cookie recipe I used to make all the time.  I soon realized it had been a good couple years since I whipped up a batch of cookies as the whole process felt oddly unfamiliar to me.

I forgot to let my butter soften first, so had to nuke it for a few seconds in the microwave.  I then stared blankly at my KitchenAid mixer asking it if I usually used it to make cookies or just a plain ‘ol bowl and spoon.  After a couple of blank minutes that I’ll never gain back, I opted for the mixer.

And I came up short by 1/2 cup with the flour.  I didn’t have it in me to run to the store.  Half cup is close enough. 

Chocolate Crunch Cookie dough

This is a far cry from when I was a kid and made cookies with my grandma almost every single week.  I had her chocolate chip oatmeal cookie recipe completely memorized from start to finish. 

My brother and I probably downed a good quarter of the cookie dough before they ever made it to the baking sheet.  Guess we never came across any bad raw eggs, ha.  Must have been the ramp my brother built in the dough and then made me pour the beaten eggs onto that save us.  What you didn’t play with your cookie dough?

Chocolate crunch cookies

I’m so glad I got my cookie fix and I’m pretty sure no other recipe would have done the job.  I highly recommend these even if they may or may not have a whole cup of oil in the list of ingredients. 😮   They come out flaky around the edges and perfectly chewy in the center with a nice little crunch from some yummy add ins.

Chocolate Crunch Cookies

1 C butter, softened

1 C granulated sugar

1 C brown sugar

1 C canola oil

2 tsp vanilla

1 egg

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cream of tartar

3 1/2 C flour

1 C coconut flakes

1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 C oatmeal

1 C Rice Krispie cereal

Cream butter and sugars together in mixer or large bowl.  Mix in oil and vanilla and then beat in egg.  Stir in remaining dry ingredients.

Scoop onto baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 11 minutes.  Makes about 4 dozen.

Watch out – they won’t last long. 

Half eaten cookie

I even bagged some up for the freezer.  You don’t think I’m going to eat green beans and kale all winter do you?

Cookies for the freezer

What’s your favorite cookie you bake?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bakebooks permalink
    August 28, 2011 1:45 pm

    Yes, nothing like the “Real” home-made cookies 🙂 Just wish I had more patience to make them…or a Grand-mother hanging around…;)

Trackbacks

  1. you should definitely « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

