Skip to content

Garden Surprises

August 21, 2011

It’s August which means everywhere you look, tall skinny pink blooms have popped out of the ground at what usually looks like an entirely random spot.

Surprise Lillies

I’m guessing its a good year for these Surprise Lilies – I have never seen so many big bunch of blooms, including in my own garden.

Not long after I first moved into my house I dug up several things in an old flower bed and transplanted to other spots.  I came across a ton of bulbs that fall which never really bloomed that year so I made a highly uneducated guess and decided they were daffodils. 

surprise lily blooms

Well the next spring up came the foliage with no blooms.  Bummer.  Maybe the soil wasn’t right? Maybe they needed another year in their new spot?  I let the foliage eventually die off and then removed it. 

Then August came and hello!  Where did this tall stalk of a flower come from?  What a surprise when my “daffodils” came up as a light pink and blue tinted flowers in the middle of August. 

surprise lily arrangement

Guess the Surprise Lily really got me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi Baier permalink
    August 23, 2011 9:32 am

    A friend of mine calls them “Naked Ladies”. Gotta love that!

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Review – August 14-20 « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

