Skip to content

Tomatoes on the Skinny

August 11, 2011

I’m happy to report that last week’s fall planting is off to a great start.

fall plantings of radish

In fact by Monday, all the greens had germinated and by Tuesday all peas and beans were up as well.  Five days it took – I’m impressed.  Back when I sowed peas in early spring, it took almost a couple weeks, which was likely due to much cooler soil temps. 

Hello there little spinach.

Spinach newly germinated

And of course I’m crazy happy since the heirloom tomatoes started ripening up.  Right now they are going at a nice steady pace which allows me to eat one for lunch and include some into dinner without any going to waste.

Aunt Ginny's Purple sliced

It won’t last for long, but its been nice.  I’ll soon be giving them away by the pounds and hopefully freezing some sauce or something too. 

Any good homes in need of a nice litter of future tomatoes?

Cherokee Green tomato

Though just as soon as it came…it’ll be gone. Which leads me to an unfortunate Snookie-ish “Wah”. (Yes I watch that show and yes it kills my brain cells.) 

Let’s just not think about the days & months ahead. K?

Heirloom tomatoes from garden

Since it’s peak time for ripe tomatoes in gardens just about everywhere, there are tons of amazing, drool-worthy recipes on food blogs and websites right now. 

I recently found a new blog (well new to me) called Bev Cooks after seeing a recipe of hers featured on Tasty Kitchen.   I’m loving her gee-orgous photos and hilarious writing style, but really have enjoyed  following her as she utilizes the tomatoes from her own garden.  Love the ideas I’m getting from her dishes. 

Last night I did a take on one of her recipes.  I would have loved to make it exact, but I didn’t have any bread on hand good for making bruschetta.  I’m currently going through a “I don’t want to go to the store” phase.  Why?

1) I’m too lazy to go there

2) I feel like being a tightwad

3) I really need to use what’s coming out of the garden and already hanging out in my cupboards

Although I’m pretty sure I’m going to break down soon and buy some fresh mozarella to pair with my lovely ‘maters.  Cheese will make you do things like that, ya know. 

So no bread and wanting to make bruschetta…hmm – kind of an issue. 

Here’s the solution. 

I apologize in advance if the term ‘Skinny’ is way overused or now uncool, I’m pretty sure I’ll never be cool enough to keep track of stuff like that.  All I know is that the Bethenny lady who coined it, is no longer on Real Housewives and I’m pretty sure she’s got to be thankful for that.  Those New York gals are whoa.

Skinny Bruschetta with Sauteed Spinach

Skinny Tomato Bruschetta with Sauteed Spinach

mostly from Bev Cooks

3-4 tomatoes, rough chopped

1/2 cup loose packed basil leaves, rough chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

2 T extra virgin olive oil

3 C fresh baby spinach

4 small whole wheat tortillas (smallest you can find)

1 pinch salt

1 pinch of black pepper

1/4 C fresh grated parmesan cheese

Fire up the grill.  This is a great appetizer or side to cook along side a fresh piece of fish or some juicy chicken.  I grilled me up some salmon. 

In small bowl toss chopped tomatoes, basil, oil and S&P.  In an oiled saute pan cook spinach just until wilted through.

Brush one side of a tortilla with olive oil and place on grill – heating until some nice grill marks are formed.  Brush top side and then flip tortilla.  Layer on spinach and top with tomato mixture and a sprinkling of parmesan cheese.  Close grill lid and cook just until bottom side of tortilla is lightly crispy.  (Similar to cooking pizza).

Skinny tomato bruschetta with sautted spinach on tortilla

Best way to eat this is to slice it up like a pizza in quarters or half and shovel pieces into mouth.

Skinny Bruschetta

So technically not bruschetta without some yummy Italian bread, but a pretty darn good substitute.  And if you’re into all that low carb stuff then this is probably a version that will make you happy. 

Or if you are like me maybe this version will make you happy because you don’t have to go grocery shopping just yet.

Whatever your reason – try it! 

Skinny bruschetta on tortilla 

And definitely try the real deal from Bev Cooks too! 

Fall planting: Got any updates for me on your recent plantings?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2011 4:58 pm

    You’re so awesome! Thanks so much for mentioning me. And those look DARNED good, I tell ya. Screw the store. 🙂

  2. Gerry permalink
    August 12, 2011 9:23 am

    Hey Lisa, Really enjoy your blog. Tried the pizza on the grill and it turned out great!

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Review – August 7-13 « life in green
  2. Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes « life in green
  3. Tomato Eats « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

