Skip to content

The Best Things Right Now

August 10, 2011

Know what the very absolute best thing about this time of year is?

Tomatoes!  Fresh, juicy ripe heirloom tomatoes from the garden to be exact.

Aunt Ginny's Purple heirloom

Check out that beauty.  She’s a ripe Aunt Ginny’s Purple heirloom and grows on a potato-leaf tomato plant.  Resembles an apple, don’t you think?

This gal is also quite meaty.  See those little seed cavities…that’s what I like.

Sliced Aunt Ginny's heirloom

And I’m sure you all know what has to be done with a summer heirloom tomato. 

A simple and classic BLT.  I’m all for gussy-ing food up to make for a more interesting meal, but sometimes plain and simple is definitely the way to go.

Classic BLT

I like plain ‘ol whole wheat toast, real mayo, bacon and tomato with no lettuce.  Just like how I used to eat as a kid, well probably as a teenager because I wouldn’t touch tomatoes with a 10-ft pole when I was little.   I was a very picky eater back then…definitely can’t say that today.  So when Mom & Dad had bacon tomato sandwiches, I had a bacon one – nowadays I’d eat just a tomato sandwich over only bacon any day.

Wanna know what the second absolute best thing about this time of year?

Hydrangeas!  The blooms of paniculata hydrangeas to be a little more exact.

Little Lamb hydrangea

Paniculata hydrangeas, not to be confused with ‘mophead’ hydrangeas (the one’s that turn blue or pink depending on pH levels) come into full bloom in late July or August.  They are extremely hardy and can handle full sun with no problem. 

This is Burgundy Lace, a large hydrangea shrub with lacy blooms.

Burgundy Lace hydrangea

As the blooms age over the season they turn various shades of pink and green (never blue) and make some of the best dried flower arrangements. 

You can see some shades of pink and green in this Pinky Winky bloom already.

Pinky Winky

Don’t you just love them?  This one is called Little Lamb.

Little Lamb

They make my sadness of realizing summer is nearing its end so much better.

hydrangeas

Though a much earlier bloomer, the mopheads are still just as pretty.

Forever & ever hydrangea

Getting all my shots in now so I can play over the winter for some pretty indoor prints. 🙂

What’s your favorite thing about this time of year (late summer)? 

Are you into heirloom tomatoes or hydrangeas?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 4:24 pm

    Tomatoes, baby! I’m staring at the hugest pile of them in my kitchen and I’m scared.

  2. August 10, 2011 4:52 pm

    I am eating BLTs tonight! BTW… FACT: White Wonder Bread is the best bread for BLTs.

  3. Stacy permalink
    August 10, 2011 9:24 pm

    I had a BLT wrap the other day, quite delicious!

  4. August 11, 2011 4:27 pm

    Bacon and hydrangeas…what could be lovelier? This time of year I am still loading up on zucchini and basil before they hit the skids. And yes, the farmer’s market is bustling with tomatoes which makes my heart sing!

Trackbacks

  1. Tomatoes on the Skinny « life in green
  2. Pretty in Pink « life in green
  3. Tomato Eats « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

