Skip to content

Seeds for Fall

August 4, 2011

I may need a sweatshirt yet it’s still in the 80s.  The heat has broke, here in Iowa anyways, and it just feels so cool even though it’s probably right near average for summer.  I can tell you the melons sure liked the heat this summer.

Muskmelon from the garden

I was actually starting to love the hot evenings and was enjoying my long streak of shorts and tank top only outfits.  I pretty much get goosebumps on bare skin in anything under 75 degrees…yeah I’m a wiener. 

Believe it or not the lowest our thermostat is set at in the summer is 78 degrees, and even sometimes I’ll bump it up to 80 if I’m not too active inside.  Of course at work it’s set at 74 so I get a fair share of blasting cold A/C.  Though in the winter the highest it gets is 68ish, but that’s just my frugal nature in me coming out.  Plus I really do value trying to be energy-efficient. 

So here’s my quick green pitch –  if you don’t already do this bump the thermostat up in the warm months and down in the cold and you’ll help do a part in saving yourself some money and conserving energy.  And get a programmable thermostat, it is 2011 you know. 🙂

Ranting… done.

Planting for Fall

Since the extreme heat has faded away, I figured I better get my butt out to the garden and get some planting done for a fall harvest.  The best time to plant seeds & seedlings for fall in my zone (5)  is usually the last week of July through the first week of August.  I decided to sow seeds when temperatures were expected to drop, but still within this timeframe.  I’m hoping the cooler forecasted temps, especially overnight, will allow the soil to cool some and offer a better environment for germination to occur. 

I planted seeds from my collection leftover this spring. 

Seeds for fall plantings

  • Spinach
  • Peas
  • Lettuces
  • Arugula
  • Carrots
  • Beans
  • Radish

I can hopefully get in more rounds of radishes and greens later this month.  I’m most looking forward to carrots this fall as my summer crop has tasted pretty blah and bitter.  Root vegetables tend to put on their best flavors in cooler weather.

Hoping I get a fall crop of peas too.  This summer’s heat affected their flavor and production as well. 

Best way to plant peas is to lay out a row and then take your finger and sink the seed into the soil about an inch. ‘Peas’ of cake.

Peas ready to plant

And if I was organized this summer I would have started seedlings for brussel sprouts, cabbage and broccoli.  Obviously I am not and probably spent too many weekends  drinking things that burned up some brain cells.  Hey, it happens right?  Next year from start to finish, I will strive to stay on top of things, ’cause now I have people to report to.  You, my readers!

And perhaps the construction of a cold frame will be in my future too?  I’ve got some old windows maybe I could whip up something like this.  It’s not like a don’t already have a ton of unfinished projects to attend to. :0

Want to see my ultra technical and sophisticated method of planting? 

Planting method

Yep that’s right….a garden rake for a straight row and a garden shovel to make a trench.  Works like a charm.

In total I planted one and one-third bed last night.  I have almost 2 full additional beds with space that’s not currently utilized.  Anybody have an extra seedling or two you can spare?  🙂  Some space will also be used for lots of garlic to be planted this fall, though by that time the whole garden could be cleared out.

So with the seeds sown, everyone do a rain dance and wish for a lush fall garden.  You never know what mother nature might have in store for us – hot, cold and something in between is my guess.

Raised bed planted for fall

Hey you, oregano!  Ready for a haircut?

All that planting can work up an appetite.  Good thing it wasn’t my night to cook.

Hamburger with doritos

Yep those are Doritos with a dab of A&E Mexican dip and a plain ‘ol burger.  Kind of a flashback to high school for me.  I do realize those chips are probably about as processed and un-local as it gets for food.  One of my goals here at Life in Green is to share with you real, local food, but I don’t want to be dishonest by giving you the impression that’s all I ever will or do eat. 

I’m just like anybody else and though I do try to make a good, conscious effort to eat well, sometimes I just don’t.  I try to eat the crappy stuff in moderation and not fret over it when I do.  While eating that stuff may be unhealthy, I think it is just as unhealthy for you to stress out over not-so-healthy-eating. 

Do your best and don’t worry about the rest!

Happy Fall Planting!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 10:32 pm

    Ah, loverly. I appreciate the reminder to get in seeds for a fall crop. I often remember to do that round about September/October. You have some nice pictures on the site, by the way.

    • August 9, 2011 8:30 am

      Yes it does seem kind of strange to plant for fall when its blazing hot out. Happy to report most of my fall plantings have germinated already.

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Review – July 31 – August 6 « life in green
  2. Tomatoes on the Skinny « life in green
  3. Start Somewhere « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

