Skip to content

Tatos ‘n Tacos

August 3, 2011

I dug all my remaining potatoes up this past Sunday, which included approximately 15+ pounds of the varieties, Yukon Gold and Kennebec.  I was pretty pleased with the potato crop this year, no record producing harvests but each plant produced quite well. 

It’s pretty fun digging ‘tatos, I love searching through the soil finding both big and small potatoes.  Every once in a while finding one as large as your entire hand!  Ha, my kind of fun is pretty garden geekish, huh?!

Sliced Yukon Golds

With a big tub of ‘tatos stored away in the pantry, I really wanted to make a dinner highlighting this fresh crop.  Tyler suggested, “steak & potatoes” – no surprise there.  I’m pretty sure he’d eat a hunk of steak, chop or chicken and a baked potato every day of his life if I wasn’t in the kitchen. 

I usually need something with a little more variety…and all I could think about were tacos.  Which honestly is pretty normal for me, I think a good taco is something I could eat just about everyday too!  It’s also kind of funny, cause Tyler is a non-taco kind of guy and well I’m taco loco

Basic taco

Potatoes.

Tacos.

Potatoes + Tacos.  Hmm, why not?  Taco Johns does it right?  And I know taquerias serve up tacos de papas all the time though I’ve never eaten or made one. 

Enter the ‘Tato Taco.  This was just one of those recipes that happened as I went along and thankfully turned out to be a good one.  Delicious, mostly healthy and utilizes home-grown or locally grown items…I’d call it a winner!

Seasoned potatoes in taco

‘Tato Tacos with Cilantro Lime Corn

3 medium-sized Yukon Gold potatoes, diced

2 T olive oil

1 T chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp paprika

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2 ears sweet corn, cut off the cob

Juice from half a lime

2 T fresh cilantro, chopped

8 fajita size tortillas (I used whole wheat – corn would be good too)

Avocado, diced

Plain greek yogurt

Cherry tomatoes, quartered

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  In large bowl, mix oil and seasonings and add diced potatoes, coating well.  Transfer to baking dish or pan and bake for 40 minutes, stirring/flipping halfway through. 

Taco seasoned potatoes

Meanwhile cut kernels from fresh sweet corn and mix with cilantro and lime.  Set aside. 

Cilantro Lime Corn

When potatoes are done, warm your tortillas and build your taco.  Layering on to tortilla, the seasoned potatoes, corn mixture, tomatoes, avocado and a topping of greek yogurt.

'Tato Tacos with Cilantro Lime Corn

‘Tato Taco Tastiness….say that really fast 5x.

I may be one to think any kind of taco sounds good, but believe me these really were.  They are also a pretty good healthy twist from the traditional taco fillings, having no cheese or meat and just good ‘ol veggies with a homemade seasoning offering a lot less sodium than the packaged stuff.

It also means no grease drips on your favorite t-shirt. 🙂

'Tato Tacos with Cilantro Lime Sweet Corn

Taco fan?  What’s your favorite way to fill one?

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

