Skip to content

Garden Eats Inspiration

July 29, 2011

I’ve been home for almost 24 hours now and I still am lacking motivation to do pretty much anything.  I went on a walk, practiced yoga and drank some green tea but none of those things have perked me up.

Walking zombie right here.

I really need to be outside catching up on gardening stuff like weeding and checking on the melons, but it just ain’t happening.  Instead I’m drooling over recipes online to make with produce from the garden.

Hopefully I’ll have some good stuff to show you next week – in the meantime check out these yummy looking dishes.

This is a brilliant idea.  I’ve been wandering what else I can do with my endless crop of kale, this Kale Pesto from Three Many Cooks sounds about perfect!

Kale Pesto from Three Many Cooks

You can bet I’ll be making something like this Cherry Tomato Orzo Salad from Simply Recipes soon.  Especially since it appears I might have to get a 5 gallon bucket out the next time I visit the cherry tomato plant. 

Cherry Tomato Salad from Simply Recipes

And if my heirloom tomatoes will ever ripen, I’m definitely making a classic caprese salad.  I’m sure it will not be as beautiful as this one from Pioneer Woman.  I’m hoping for some great color from the 4 varieties I grew this year: Hillbilly, Aunt Ginny’s Purple, Cherokee Green and Cuostralee.

Pioneer Woman Caprese Salad

Keeping with the salad theme, this Summer Melon Salad from She Wears Many Hats will be quite the showstopper for my melons.  That is if I don’t eat ’em up right out there in the garden. 

Summer Melon Salad from She Wears Many Hats

The soybeans are oh-so-close to being ready to eat.   This Quinoa Edamame Salad from Our Best Bites is gorgeous don’t you think?

Quinoa Edamame Salad

Definitely got some more great ideas for some super healthy eats from my garden. 

But I’ll be sure to balance it out with a few batches of these.  They are Better Than Crack Brownies from How Sweet It Is and are sinful and my new go-to ‘bar’.

Better than Crack Brownies from How Sweet It Is

What new garden recipes have you discovered recently? What about delicious not-so-healthy ones?

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

