Skip to content

Zucchini Love

July 25, 2011

I’m on vacation this week and spending a few days in Okoboji….Iowa’s version of the Great Lakes.  I drove up with one of my nephews on Sunday to hang out with my parents at a lakefront resort. 

Of course when you are on vacation there is always lots of eating and I look forward to some great meals dining and grilling out.  And for in between I whipped up a couple of snacks to bring along, including my favorite trail mix bar.

And since I had a whopper of a zucchini that sneaked up on me, I was excited to make some zucchini bread to take with.

large zucchini

I’ve been wanting to make Lemon Rosemary Zucchini Bread from Simply Recipes ever since it was posted on her site earlier this month.

I’m really loving the sweet and herb combination this year.  Love how just a little touch of herb can take any simple treat to another level of tasty goodness.  🙂

This trio is a good one.

Rosemary, lemon, zucchini

Lemon Rosemary Zucchini Bread

from Simply Recipes

3 C flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 T minced fresh rosemary

2 eggs

1/2 C melted unsalted butter

1/4 C olive oil

1/2 tsp salt (omit if using salted butter)

1 1/4 C sugar

1 T lemon zest

3 cups grated zucchini (from about 1 pound of zucchini)

Preheat oven to 350F. Prepare two 4×9-inch loaf pans, either coating with butter or spraying with baking spray.  I did a large loaf pan and half dozen muffins.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and rosemary.

Beat the eggs in a mixer (or by hand) until frothy. Beat in the sugar. Beat in the melted butter and olive oil. Stir in the lemon zest and grated zucchini.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet, a third at a time, stirring after each incorporation.

Divide batter/dough into two loaf pans. Bake in a 350°F oven for 45 to 50 minutes. Test after 40 minutes. If you gently press down on the surface of the loaf, it should bounce back, and a bamboo skewer inserted into the center should come out clean.

Remove from the oven. Let cool for a few minutes and then remove the loaves from their pans to cool on a rack.

Loaf of Lemon Rosemary Zucchini bread

Who doesn’t like sweet breads?  It’d be hard to find someone who doesn’t.  And definitely hard to find someone who won’t like this one. 

Just call it summer in a bread. 🙂

Lemon Rosemary Zucchini Bread

Unfortunately I don’t think the zucchini will survive past my vacation.  It’s falling victim to squash vine borer.  Happy though that I’ve been able to get a pretty good harvest before it goes. 

Yikes!

Squash vine borer damage on zucchini

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

