Skip to content

Good Eats from the Garden

July 22, 2011

After eating not so garden-like this week, I worked my way to redemption with an easy dinner that included a bunch of garden fixins’.  Nothing says summer more than food picked fresh from the garden and grilled outdoors…and in this case the blazing hot heat. 

Garden produce on the grill

Ingredients used fresh from the garden included:

  • Tarragon
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Yellow onions
  • Zucchini
  • Eggplant
  • Sweet banana peppers
  • Lettuce

Not bad, eh?

I was feeling like some chicken since it seemed like forever since I last had some.  With my focus strictly on using additional ingredients from the garden, I used some fresh herbs in a quick marinade to flavor it up.  I love chicken, but if it has no added flavor – I’ll just go ahead and eat paper and save on the calories 😉 

I picked tarragon as my herb of choice.  This is my first year growing and really want to try it in a variety of dishes to get a good grasp on how I like to use it.  Of course thyme or rosemary are always good picks with chicken. 

Tarragon

Tarragon Lemon Grilled Chicken Breasts

1 T fresh tarragon, chopped

1 T olive oil

Juice from 1 lemon

Zest from 1/2 lemon

1 clove garlic, minced

1/4 tsp salt

Black pepper to taste

Chicken breasts (I used 2 large, but makes enough for 4 medium-sized)

All you have to do is pound out the chicken until even all the way across.  Then mix up all other ingredients and pour over chicken, letting sit for at least an hour.

Lemon Tarragon Chicken marinating

Put on the grill and cook thoroughly.

To accompany your chicken on the grill, you cannot forget the grilled veggies. 

Use whatever you want…I used up all that I could find ripe out back.  I like to cut lengthwise instead of circles for vegetables like zucchini because you have fewer items to flip and decrease your chances of them sliding through the cracks.  I did still manage to lose all but one banana pepper half and an eggplant slice.  Or just grill in a basket…I like the grill marks though. 

Onions: sliced 1/2 inch thick

Zucchini & eggplant: sliced lengthwise about 1/4 inch thick

Banana peppers: sliced in half lengthwise

Grilled veggies, chicken and bread

I decided to make a ‘salad’….can’t forget the bread.  Currently addicted to these whole grain ciabattas.

And check out the grilled zucchini and onions.  Amazing.  Like super amazing…food just doesn’t get much better than that.

When everything was done I did a rough chop to get make smaller pieces for a salad.  Then layered on top of some lettuce and sprinkled with feta and cherry tomatoes. 

Grilled Vegetable Salad with Tarragon Lemon Chicken

Drizzled with the tiniest bit of Italian dressing.  This was a winner!

Grilled Vegetable Salad

If you’ve not had grilled zucchini or onion slices, you are missing out.  I say add them to your weekend menu.  I’m pretty sure I will, I can’t get enough.

Don’t forget something sweet to follow.  My parents delivered some fresh red raspberries grown at their place.  Halfway through I realized I forgot to wash the berries.  I’m sure I probably digested a bug or two.  Ha.

Vanilla ice cream with mango and fresh red raspberries

Have a fantastic weekend!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2011 4:56 pm

    BEAUTIFUL vegetables on the grill! 🙂

  2. July 23, 2011 8:38 pm

    i wish i could be teleported to your place right now for this BBQ- this meal looks SO GOOOOD!!! ❤ xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

