Skip to content

Guilty

July 20, 2011

I’m feeling guilty…actually almost distraught.  It’s an awful feeling. 

Why the guilt?  Well I’ve cooked supper twice this week so far with nothing that was home-grown.   Yikes! I know.

Here I am blabbing night and day about gardening and cooking and eating with stuff from your own backyard (or front if you’re a rebel).  And I go and do this.  Obviously when the growing season is over it will be impossible for me to use something from the garden daily, but right now in the peak of when all is green and productive I should be utilizing the heck out of it.

If only it was edamame time.  I can’t eat green beans everyday, you know.

Baby edamame

I know you are thinking ‘whoa, this nut is a bit obsessed with her garden’.  And well, it is true and  I’ve totally accepted it.

So garden…I promise I’ll visit you more than to just take pictures and pull pesky weeds while your still alive and kickin’.

But first I have to share with you my recent non-Life in Green garden meal.  It was flipping fantastic by the way.  Can you say guilty pleasure?

I first saw this recipe for Boyfriend-Approved Spicy Black Bean Burgers at Eat Live Run and was intrigued.  Not long after that, Iowa Girl Eats gave her stamp of approval, so I put the recipe in my ‘make soon list’.  You know – one of those lists that just float around in the back of your head.

Spicy Black Bean Burger from ELR

Boyfriend-Approved Spicy Black Bean Burgers

from Eat Live Run

I made 4 huge burgers:

2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed – I used a can of black and a can of red

1 T ground flax + 3 T water

1 jalapeno

2 cloves garlic

2 T tomato sauce

1/2 cup Panko breadcrumbs

2 tsp cumin

1 1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup corn (fresh or frozen and defrosted) – fresh Iowa sweet corn here of course

avocado for topping

olive oil (or canola oil)  for frying burgers

Making bean patties

Directions:

Seed and roughly chop jalapeno. Add it and the garlic cloves to a food processor and mince finely.

Add one can of beans to the jalapeno/garlic mixture and pulse to combine.  I mixed the black and red beans together and added half of the beans.  Add cumin and salt and pulse until mixture resembles chunky black bean dip.

In a small bowl, mix together the ground flax and water. Let sit for five minutes.  

Transfer the mixture in the food processor to a large bowl and stir in the bread crumbs, tomato sauce, flax and corn. Stir well until everything is combined. Add remaining beans.

Heat a little olive oil in a skillet on medium high heat. Form black bean mixture into patties and fry for about 4 minutes per side, until golden and crusty brown.  I use one of those cheap patty makers….makes some nice big patties.

Frying bean burgers

Serve burgers with avocado slices, sriracha and ketchup.  I just did avocado on a toasted whole wheat ciabatta roll.

These definitely get a thumbs up from me! Tyler also approved saying though he couldn’t quite classify it as a burger they still tasted good.  Not bad right?

My jalapeno was probably a little weak as these could have used a little more heat.  And yeah of course I’d use a jalapeno from the garden, but they aren’t even setting fruit yet.  My bad – it was planted fairly late.

spicy bean burger with avocado

Served with a small sweet potato, this burger kept me super full all night long. 

Spicy Black Bean Burger

I’ve never made bean burgers before, but I am completely sold on these.  Can’t wait to try some other variations…hopefully next time with some garden goods!

No comments yet

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

