Skip to content

Taking Advantage of the Heat

July 19, 2011

The heat wave saga continues.

I had to save this guy from his summer-long wilty status.

Forever & Ever wilting hydrangea

Much better now.

Forever & Ever hydrangea in vase

Have to say I kind of know how that weeping hydrangea feels.  It’s downright brutal out.  (Though still better than winter!)

I too needed a good drink to quench me back to life just like that jar of water did for the hydrangea bloom. 

In a strike against my indoor appliances, I took advantage of the heat and sun and threw some Lipton Green Tea orange, passionfruit and jasmine flavored bags into a pitcher of water and parked it on the deck in the blazing sunshine.  This might be one of those…when life hands you lemons (hotter than H-E-double hockey sticks weather) make lemonade (sun tea!). 

Green tea; sun tea

Three bags in a half-gallon of water plus a few sprigs of mint. 

Sun tea with mint

Remember the mint I bought a few weeks ago.  It wasn’t pretty.

Spearmint and peppermint

Looking good now.

Spearmint

Back to the tea.  Let it hang out in the sun for a good 4 hours as the flavors slowly infuse the water.

Sun tea ready

It’ll be a nice darker color.

After it’s steeped long enough, it needs to come inside and cool off in the fridge.

Then pour a big ‘ol glass full and enjoy.  Iced tea (white, green or black) is probably my all time favorite beverage.

Green sun tea

The pitcher lasted about a whole 24 hours.  Good thing there’s plenty of sunshine and heat to make more. 😉

What’s your favorite thirst quenching beverage?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 11:29 am

    I love sun tea! What a great idea adding in mint. I have so much in my garden I’ll have to give that a try next time.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

