Skip to content

Put a Garden on Your Pizza

July 13, 2011

Just another reason I love summer.

Summer Shandy

Beer and pizza is one of the best combos ever.  Summer Shandy doesn’t disappoint when you’re talking fresh summertime pizza. 

I don’t know about you, but when it comes to pizza it has got to have some toppings.  Screw that pepperoni only stuff.  I want substance.  I love the traditional supreme or veggie pizza…but I am open to whatever someone wants to throw on it, as long as it gets loaded. 🙂

One of my fav pizza’s is from a local restaurant.  It’s called the Sensation and has sauerkraut, black olives and Canadian bacon on a cracker crisp type crust.  It is sooooo delicious! 

And while ordering pizza out is all good – I love to make it at home just as much anymore.  Though making pizza at home is a rather recent thing for me.  When I was a kid I got sick after eating it once and it took me probably a good decade to even try it again. 

With my garden in full force, I couldn’t resist the opportunity to make a pizza this week loaded with all kinds of homegrown goodies. 

So put a homemade pizza on the menu and grab what’s ripe in the garden (or your neighbors, ha) and let’s make a Garden Pizza!

Out to the garden we go.  Here’s what I snagged. 

Garden harvest: eggplant, pepper, green beans, cherry tomatoes

Eggplant, cherry tomatoes, a purple bell pepper and green beans.  What’d you get?

Back to the kitchen….wash up your fresh pickins’ and chop.  We are roasting these babies first.  I put the chopped veggies all on the same large baking sheet and roasted with a little olive oil and S&P at 425 degrees for about 10 minutes. 

You could also fire up the grill and cook your veggies on the grill….same with the pizza.  Grilled pizza is omgsogood.  It actually was a bit cool out, so I opted for the inside cooking. 

Roasted (or grilled) garden veggies done and smelling great.  Aren’t you so glad I totally forgot to take a picture for you?

Now we are ready for pizza assembly.

Grab your favorite crust.  I vote for one from scratch, it’s no secret I like this pizza crust recipe.  But if store-bought is what trips your trigger, go for it.   I use a pizza stone.  If you have one you probably will use it too, if not no prob just bake on your usual pan. 

Slather on some sauce.  I took some of last week’s pesto from the freezer.  I’ve actually been eating it on turkey sandwhiches sandwiches (why is it that I can never spell that right?) this week.  Hmm…maybe I do actually love basil.  This might be big people.

fresh pesto on pizza crust

You could use marinara or alfredo…or if you’re lucky, sliced ripe tomatoes out of the garden.  I’ve still got a while to go before the big tomatoes are ready.  Growing tomatoes can be torture…all that waiting!

Next up – the best part of pizza…the cheese!  I had an unopened package of fresh mozzarella pearls in my fridge that I picked up on sale a little while back and needed to use up.  I would say the pearls are not ideal for pizza, but they melt just like any other cheese.  If I didn’t have the pearls to use up, I would have grabbed a fresh mozzarella ball from Hy-Vee or Trader Joes and cut into slices. 

mozzarella pearls on pizza

Lastly top with the cooked vegetables and pop into your hot oven, I do 450 degrees.  Bake until cheese is bubbly and crust in golden brown. 

Yum, yum, yum.  A garden on a pizza.  Does it get better than that? 

Fresh Garden Veggie Pizza

We all know that pizza’s not the ‘healthiest’ food in the world…but maybe this one will make you feel a little less guilty with all the extra nutrients you get from the added veggies.  Remember the fresher the produce, the higher the nutrient content.  And backyard harvests are as fresh as it gets!

Garden Veggie Pizza

(1) Pizza crust

1/3 C pesto

Fresh mozzarella cheese

1 1/2 C roasted fresh vegetables

Parmesan cheese

Prepare your favorite pizza crust.  Spread pesto on top of rolled out pizza dough.  Place mozzarella cheese evenly over pesto.  Top with roasted vegetables and then sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

Bake at 450 degrees for approximately 12 minutes.

Roasted Veggie Pizza

What’s your favorite pizza topping combos?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Albertina Pieczynski permalink
    February 5, 2013 7:39 pm

    There are also a number of additions that can go into a grilled cheese sandwich, like ham, tomato, herbs and spices, or sauces like ketchup or mustard. Some of these will go between the slices of bread before the grilling takes place, and some are sprinkled on the top or used as a dip. Many Canadians enjoy dipping their sandwiches in ketchup or applesauce, while people in the United States tend to prefer their sandwiches with tomato soup or French fries on the side.^

    Our new web blog
    <http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/keratin-treatment-reviews/

Trackbacks

  1. Salmon with Roasted Cherry Tomatoes « life in green
  2. The End of ’11 « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

