Skip to content

Garden Review – June 26-July 2, 2011

July 4, 2011

Happy 4th of July!

A nice relaxing day at home is in store for us.  It’s been a busy weekend and I’m just ready to chill out back on the deck.  Probably have to fit in a game or two of this too. 🙂 

Grilled ribeyes are on the agenda for later.  What sounds good to go with?

Week of June 26- July 2

I’d say summer officially arrived here this past week.  The sun shined and the temperatures soared.  I watered my containers just about everyday this week.  Previously I had been getting by with rain showers.  I have yet to water the kitchen garden though.  With raised beds I thought maybe some extra watering might be in store, but so far everything has looked fine.

Some great pickings from the garden this week.  I was playing catch up from the wet garden the week before.  My fridge is now stocked again with some fresh goods. Yay!

Red New Potatoes

Harvest

  • (3) heads of broccoli
  • (2) plants of new potatoes
  • Lettuce – I lost count after the 5th cutting
  • (2) large handfuls of peas
  • (1) small eggplant
  • (1) small carrot – ewww it was not good
  • Several yellow and red onions
  • Herbs – parsley, chives, tarragon, thyme, cilantro, oregano

Garden Notables

  • Kale continues to grow very well even in the heat
  • Heirloom tomatoes have not set many fruits
  • Cherry tomato plant has gone wild
  • Melon plants slowing trailing outside their bed
  • Bibb lettuce very close to bolting
  • Green beans almost ready

Muskmelon plants

 I really don’t feel like going to the grocery store anytime soon so I’m hoping for another good week in the garden.  If only it was tomato time…

Still have garden snacks…

dwarf snow pea

Hot weather has nothing for this container.

Container with geranium, lantana, verbena

Maybe I’ll get moving on the finishing touches for the kitchen garden.

I’m guessing the green beans will distract me this week instead.

Picking Green Beans

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

