Skip to content

Garden Review – June 19-25, 2011

June 27, 2011

It’s Monday….but I’m not complaining.  It’s nice out…the sun is shining and I’m excited for a warm week to enjoy outside. 

Clear and sunny sky

I’m usually stuck inside during the week for work, so when its nice out I hightail my butt home, quickly change to some more comfy and cool clothes and go immediately outside.  My camera and I usually first survey the conditions and then its some form of pulling, trimming, picking or maybe just relaxing on the deck. 

Oh and for the record I took pictures of the garden long before I started this blog.  Just ask the neighbors! 

Forever and Ever Hydrangea

Week of June 19-25

Last Sunday (Father’s Day) was a gorgeous day with sunny skies and warm temperatures – no garden time for me but instead enjoyed an awesome day on the lake.  Monday through Thursday….was either wet or chilly.  It felt a bit odd wearing jeans, a sweater and jacket at Thursday night’s I-Cubs game – we went for my nephew’s birthday.  Friday was super nice…but my chest cold was not and kept me inside :(.  Saturday was cool and cloudy as the fam braved the day at the lake for a family reunion. 

We even do yard work at the lake ;).

Playing at Lake

I also had pizza four different times last week – not leftovers either.  Just so you know.

On to this past week’s garden review…its pretty minimal from little time spent at home this week combined with the not so great weather.  I’ve already got a much more exciting update in the works for next week based on yesterday’s harvest

Harvest

Garden Notables

  • Cherry tomatoes setting lots of fruit
  • First eggplant growing quickly
  • Some onion bulbs up to baseball size
  • Lettuce still healthy, no signs of bolting
  • Zucchini set fruit
  • Hydrangea all setting buds (exciting!)

Baby eggplant

So last week  I mentioned I had signs of disease pop up and took some measures to help control it.  I’ve still got one more tactic on my list – mulching.  Mulching will help prevent water from splashing from the soil (where the disease lives) up to the foliage on the plants.  For mulch on my veggie beds I just use dried grass clippings.  They are free and work pretty well.  Unfortunately I am a bit slow this year to mulch and now have been battling wet conditions to get a dried pile of clippings.  They are there but just sitting in a soggy pile.  Hopefully I will get some beds mulched this week to further prevent disease as well as retain moisture…..future forecast looks to be hotter and drier. 

Here’s the latest look at the garden.

Can you tell which way the wind blew in last night’s storm?

Get much gardening in this past week?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2011 8:23 pm

    Lisa, I’ve looked back at several of your posts and have enjoyed them. Your photography is stunning! Especially your food photography. Your nephew is a doll. He is having a good time at the beach – then again, who wouldn’t? I like your raised beds. They remind me of ours. Enjoy your 4th of July wknd, Lisa!
    Blessings, Beth

    • June 30, 2011 8:32 pm

      Thanks so much! It’s all a work in progress, maybe some day my gardens can look like yours! I hope you continue to read.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

