Skip to content

You Can Stop Now

June 26, 2011

Yeah mother nature, I’m talking to you.  Pretty, pretty please share your thunder and rain and clouds with those around the globe that could use it more than Iowa.  I realize you are telling me to get over it as I listen to your rumbles outside right this second.  But I am having sunshine withdrawal…which leads to garden withdrawal…it ain’t good. 

It’s just so wet.  I’m sick of my feet looking like this

Wet feet

 and this

wet and sandy feet

 Yea sorry for the ugly feet pictures…but the point is I want dry feet!  And no I will not wear shoes…its summertime!

I did manage to get some garden time in today.  A harvest was long overdue…the fridge is quite bare.  Of course I’ll be picking mud out of my fingernails for the next week, but hey what’s new?

Harvest of peas, new potatoes, lettuce, broccoli

It was quite a nice little garden visit with several first season pickings. 

Dwarf Gray Sugar Peas

New red potatoes

Broccoli

Lettuce (it’s still going strong with all this rainy cool weather)

Aren’t those potatoes such a great shade of red…I think they are Viking.  For some reason I didn’t keep the best track of all the varieties of veggies planted this year – next year for sure!

No way could those potatoes not be included for dinner.  I spotted a new potato recipe awhile back that used fresh tarragon and was waiting for my first taters to try it out. 

Tarragon dressing for potatoes

This is my first year growing tarragon, which is a popular herb used in French cuisine.  I haven’t used it much, but have enjoyed it’s somewhat sweet flavor so far. 

I adapted this recipe from the latest Taste of Home and also cut it in half since I only had about that many potatoes.

Backyard Red Potato Salad

my adapted version

1 lb of new red potatoes

2 T olive oil

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1.5 T balsamic vinegar

1 T lemon juice

1 T Dijon mustard (used my Iowa Country Garlic Mustard)

1 tsp sugar

1 garlic clove, minced

1/8 cup chopped fresh tarragon

Cut potatoes to uniform size.  Toss with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic powder.  Roast at 425 degrees for approximately 40 minutes. 

Mix balsamic vinegar, lemon juice, mustard, sugar, garlic and fresh tarragon in small bowl.  Toss mixture with roasted potatoes and serve warm.

Roasted red potatoes with roasted broccoli

Um…yum! Loved these.  I ate just a little bit of my homegrown new york strip and chowed down on these roasted potatoes and roasted broccoli. 

Well I guess mother nature’s not listening to me. 😦

Rain on the kitchen garden

I suppose it will be nice all week….while I’m inside at work.

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

