Skip to content

Garden Update – June 12-18, 2011

June 20, 2011

I hope you all had a fantastic Father’s Day and got to spend it with some of your favorite dads around!  I was lucky to spend the day boating with the fam, including the one and only captain, Dad

Dad on the lake

Holy cow it was a beautiful day! 

Later on it was deck time and grilled chicken with some of Tyler’s family.  I may have also started an early influence on a hopeful gardener-to-be. 😉

 

And in typical Monday fashion….the past week’s garden update.

Week of June 12-18

Last week was pretty mild as far as temps with some heavy rains on Monday and a decent rain again Saturday.  I wish I would remember to pick up a rain gauge (last one broke) so I could get an accurate read.  It was plenty damp though as I did find the start of some disease.  😦  My time was somewhat limited in the garden this week – you don’t want to touch wet plants. 

I do have to say that I am so fortunate to not be in any flooding areas and feel for those around the Missouri River where they are seeing record flood levels.  Not good.

Harvest

Garden Notables

  • Second plantings of various lettuce, cilantro and basil starting to grow pretty good
  • Cabbageworms came out to play on the Brussel sprout
  • All three broccoli set heads and are doubling in size each day
  • Tomatoes flowering but showing signs of disease on bottom leaves
  • Green beans and soy beans just started to bloom
  • Several peppers setting fruit
  • Zucchini turning into a monster
  • Knock out roses at the peak of their first flush
  • Clematis in bloom

Broccoli growing

Some not so great things reared their little heads this week in the garden.  It was bound to happen…it always does.  But instead of getting frustrated, all you have to do is a little more work and just pay attention. 

I like to keep things organic, so I don’t use any of that chemically stuff.  With the cabbageworms, I just pick ’em off and squish them.  They lay eggs and can multiply like bunnies, in which case there is a biological insecticide you can spray with.  You’ll find cabbageworms on your broccoli, cauliflower, Brussel sprouts and cabbage.  Be sure to try to maintain them, they have no problem chewing through whole plants.  I’ve yet to get a good Brussel sprout harvest due to those little boogers (they do kind of look like gigantic boogers…haha)

There are many different kinds of tomato diseases and disorders that can infect your plants.  Early blight is the usual pain in my side when it comes to my ‘maters.  My plan of attack is to remove and dispose of the infected foliage and then spray with Serenade, a product that contains a soil-dwelling bacterium that kills many diseases.  It’s certified organic, but watch out it smells like nasty smelly feet.  My gag reflexes go into overdrive when I mix this up…I suppose it’s my big schnoz.

Heirloom tomato infected leaf 

I implemented my plan of attack on Saturday evening after the garden dried out from the morning’s rainfall.  I sprayed my tomatoes top to bottom and had plenty mixed up to give a good spray to the potatoes, beans, zucchini and peppers as a preventative measure.  For me Serenade has been most effective used preventively or to control already infected plants, but not so much for eliminating disease completely.  I’ll probably hit things up again in 10 days or so.

Last but not least….cross those fingers and pray! 

Here’s the latest view.

So what’s new with your garden? Fighting any dreadful disease?

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

