Skip to content

Lettuce Wraps

June 16, 2011

Yep it’s still ‘salad city’  here.  But this time a salad wasn’t going to cut it.  The Burpee Bibb lettuce in my garden has been calling my name as it has been forming some great heads with nice large leaves perfect for wrapping.

I actually planted this specific variety just so I could make lettuce wraps.  I’ve made these Asian Lettuce Wraps before though I never could find any decent lettuce from the grocery store to make them great.  This lettuce was the perfect solution….large and flexible, resulting in perfect little wraps and only 20% of the filling all over myself instead of 75%.  I’m just not a very classy eater. 🙂

ASIAN LETTUCE WRAPS

adapted using this recipe at allrecipes.com

10+ bibb or butter variety lettuce

1 lb ground beef (or turkey)

1 med onion, chopped

1/2 green (or red) pepper, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

3 T soy sauce

1 T peanut butter

1/2 T honey

1 T vinegar

1/2 tsp ground ginger

2 tsp sesame oil

10 drops of hot sauce (tabasco)

Black pepper

Out to the garden I went to collect some of the ingredients, including:

  • Bibb lettuce leaves
  • Onion
  • Cilantro for garnish

And of course to the freezer for our locally grown ground beef.

Directions (super easy!):

Rinse whole lettuce leaves & dry, being careful not to tear.

In skillet, brown ground beef until no longer pink.  Drain and set aside to cool.  Saute the onion and pepper in same pan, stirring frequently.  Add all remaining ingredients and bring to a quick simmer.  Return cooked beef to pan and stir well, turning off heat. 

Arrange lettuce leaves and fill with beef mixture and brown rice.  Top off with some chopped cilantro.

Then…crunch and enjoy!

I know I did!

Have any creative non-salad ideas to use lettuce?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 3:52 pm

    That looks Delicious! Your pictures of food make me hungrier than I already am. I hope Henry is doing well!

    • June 16, 2011 8:29 pm

      Have you made any pizza yet?

      • June 17, 2011 10:56 am

        Not yet. I had plans to make it twice, but my cooking partner didn’t show. Definitely next week. I will let you know how it turns out.

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Update – June 12-18, 2011 « life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

