Skip to content

2011 Outdoor Projects

June 12, 2011

I have an old house and it sure looked like an old house when I bought it in ’06.  Every year  since we’ve had multiple projects, small and big, to try to snazz the place up.  This spring I had several projects on the agenda.

In May we finally stained the deck that was built new last year.  First gave it a good cleaning with a deck wash product.  Then applied a water sealer stain in the color Teak with a staining brush.  It took two weeknight evenings and a few ibuprofen for my stiff back and sore knees.

Before

After

All spring I had been looking for a patio table & chairs set.  I gave myself a pretty minimal budget and quickly figured out that I was going to have to find something used.  I wanted something that was a) still in good shape and quality and b) could look good with just a new coat of paint. 

Gotta tell ya I felt like I hit the jackpot when I was able to buy a 4-year-old set from a Craigslist ad for only $125!  It has some great lines and is a nice quality….its only issue was this hideous spongy green finish.

With a quick sanding to rough up the surface and a spray of Rustoleum primer base, it got a much needed modern update with a coat of glossy charcoal gray spray paint.

Originally I had wanted to do the outdoor living area on the back deck in grays and yellows.  World Market had some great yellow & gray toned cushions I had been eyeing, but as you can see I went with aqua cushions from Target.  The aqua was inspired by yet another quick outdoor project.

We had bought these unfinished Adirondack chairs and decided on a whim to go pick up some paint at the local hardware store.  I picked the blue color and he the yellow.  So that kinda threw the yellow/gold/gray idea out and in was bright aquas/turquoise/yellows.

 

And finally.

Before these small projects…was a big one.  At one point of this project, I wanted to crawl inside to hide and never look at it again.  I guess you could say it was ambitious for us.  😮

And it’s still not entirely finished (hopefully later this summer) but it is usable and producing wonderful things.  And I love it…I love love love it!

Yeah I know I’m a garden geek.

This project…..well it gets its own post.  Stay tuned for more raised bed gardening adventures ahead.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacy Antisdel permalink
    June 16, 2011 3:53 pm

    Furniture looks great! I’m sure I’ll be sitting in them with a tasty beverage soon!! I also need to come steal some of that beautiful food you have coming out of the garden.

    • June 16, 2011 8:28 pm

      Come get some lettuce…it’s growing like crazy!

  2. Tina Hochwender permalink
    October 4, 2011 10:47 pm

    Lisa your site rocks! Love you! Tina

Trackbacks

  1. My Kitchen Garden « life in green
  2. life in green

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

