Skip to content

Tonight’s Harvest: Kale

June 7, 2011

I picked a salad spinner worth of Dwarf Blue Curled Kale tonight.  It was my first Kale harvest this year…though I have been munching on a leaf everytime I check on the garden (ok so maybe like everyday and maybe more like twice a day).  Kale is yummy stuff and one of the healthiest veggies there is with lots of Vitamin A, K & C and dietary fiber. 

**Disclaimer – I am not a dietician, nutritionist or anything of the like.  I just have a big interest in nutrition and love to read up on it and apply to my own life!  Just so you know, I’m a total amateur at all my hobbies.  No formal training here, just a big ‘ol desire to learn and share – I’m semi sponge-like constantly soaking in information!**

So back to the kale.  I had one thing on my mind and it was chips.  Kale chips that is. 

I washed and spun dry trimmed kale leaves and laid them on a baking sheet.  Then drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt & a little parmesan cheese and tossed them into the oven at 375 degrees for 15 minutes.  And Waa Laa!…wait it ended up being more like Womp Womp.  Apparently 15 minutes was too long for my tender kale and my brain was not in multi-task mode to check on them while they were cooking.  Oh well…I still ate them!  There’s plenty left in the garden for future chips.  I’ll be planning to freeze some for soups this winter too!

Life in Green would love to hear from you...

